• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Angle cylinder doesn't work

Tommy

Occupation
Business Owner
I have a Komatsu D37P-5A and the angle cylinder no longer works. When I try to angle the blade right or left, the blade makes a very short jerking motion (an inch or less )in that direction, but will not move as it should. If I put the blade against a tree and push, I can get it to angle. The tilt and lift cylinders work as they are supposed to. Any help is greatly appreciated.

g_man

Occupation
Retired
I am not a mechanic but this is what I would do.There is probably an easier way but this works. All you need is some plugs and a pressure guage.
You need to figure out if it is the valve or a cylinder. I would remove the four hoses from the angle cylinders and plug 3 of the hose ends with a proper plug fitting ( like a JIC-8 male maybe ). I would put a pressure guage on the 4th hose end. Operate your valve to angle the blade in the direction that would put pressure on the gauge. If you see pressure ( like 2000 psi ) on the guage and you here the pressure relief go off then your valve in that direction is good. Switch the guage to the other hose on that side and check the valve in the other direction.
If the valve is good then then it must be a cylinder. But which one ?