• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

air compressors

Randy88

Can anybody tell me anything about rotary or screw air compressors, I have no experience with anything other than two stage cylinder type compressors. The adds say 100,000 hour life and such things but my knowledge is only from what I read in adds. Other than the price difference and the life expectancy what else is there to them, less moving parts I take it and longer life but how about cold weather and maintenance, do they start and stop like a two stage once it gets up to pressure? How do the hydraulic driven ones like are on service trucks work as for starting and stopping and are they worth the price.

We are currently using the air supply off the truck brakes to run air tools but its not enough, we knew that from day one but now its to the point we need to do something different. We've looked at hydraulic driven two stage compressors, gas engine compressors and electric motors driven off my bobcat but have kinda ruled it out for now due to operating in cold weather, I'd like the welder generator with an air pack but I don't want to trade in my bobcat and don't want to spend that much just to get the air compressor. Any ideas or thoughts? what do others do and how do you like it and what would you do differently if given a choice.

Greg

Occupation
Excavating Contractor
Probably a gasoline engine powered unit is your best bet. Small air cooled gasoline engines have become very dependable and are excellent starting engines. Get one with an electric starter, use premium gasoline in it with out ethanol and it should work fine for you.

fast_st