• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Advice on purchase of a loader for loading sand in dumptrucks

handtpipeline

Occupation
Utility Contractor
We are in the process of starting in a new venture. We have the opportunity to start a sand plant type of operation. My background is mainly in pipeline, utilities, and general excavation. We have a dirt pit we started about a year ago also.

In the dirt pit, we just use an excavator to load the dirt into the trucks. Currently we are using our PC200LC8. Dirt sales are slow right now, so I'm about to move a Case 125B that I have into the dirt pit, to free up the 200 for other uses.

The sand plant we are working on getting going, we plan to excavate the sand with an excavator mainly. I have a Link Belt LS78 pipeliner dragline that I may use to dig sand some with. We don't need to dredge, as we have a large area we can get sand from when the river is at normal to low elevation, and whenever the river gets up, it will re-plenish where we have excavated already.

This is where the rubber tired loader comes in. We have access to an area about half a mile away, where we can stockpile the sand and load it from. It would be nice to be able to just load it out from where we dig it, but a lot of trucks don't get around on sand very well, and understandably a lot of owners of dumptrucks won't want to get their trucks in sand. So we plan on using our own trucks to move the sand to the stockpile area, and load most if not all of the customer trucks there with a wheel loader.