• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

work in georgia

dozier man

hello ive been grading for years and i feel like im not good at bidding jobs i get about half the jobs i bid but i mostly work for the same contractors heres my question i want to know if any of you guys know where i can get a baseline for bidding jobs that way im in line with everyone i may be asking a dumb question but for some reason since market crash i get work but dont seem to have any money after all the fuel insurances labor all is paid

Colorado Digger

Experience is really the only tool that will help you. Knowledge of your local market and keeping track of how much the job's go for that you bid also helps. The other thing that helps is having a few friends that are in Dirtwork as well. Being able to discuss work and talk about pricing really seems to help. In my experience excavation is not a get rich quick occupation. I always seem to spend my profits on more equipment.

Good Luck, CD

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
Speaking from my experience and I don't know your working area but if you are getting 1/2 the jobs you bid you are probably bidding too cheap.

I get about 20% of the jobs I bid and the "we really want to use you but your not the low number" calls as well. I handle the "your not low but want to use you" jobs on a case by case basis, evaluating the owner and the GC from past experiences. There are a few GC's that I'll adjust a price on because they are good to work with and pay promptly, others I decline to lower my price.