• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Which backhoe should I pick!!!

Peter23

Hello,

These are the backhoes I am interested in:

1996 Ford 555B
6000 hours
good overall condition
$13,000

1974 Case 580C
hours unknown
good condition
$10,000

1987 Case 680K
9600 hours
good overall condition, extendahoe, 2 buckets
$12,0000

I dont have any pics at the moment but as soon I get them i will post them I apologize. I am new to backhoes So I need help to find the right Backhoe for me. I checked online on machinerytrader.com for what these backhoes going for and found each of them for a couple grants cheaper. I live in Canada, Manitoba that could be the reason.

I will use the backhoe for pond work and planting trees. All the backhoes are 2wd. I dont know what backhoe i should go for mostly I need help with the price as I dont want to pay more than the machine is worth.

I will be thankful for any help!

Last edited:

Deere500a

No time on a Ford hoe but the Case 680?E I was on, sucked getting in and out of the cab was no fun, instead of a box to step on you had little bitty steps you had to find with your feet backwards. It has airbrakes, had to wait for it to build air, the foot pedals were three inches apart trying to step on them evenly I could always feel her pulling to one side. The number one irritating design of that hoe was that the battery box is on the front end where the counter weight should be and with the cover gone you had to make sure wood or other materials didn't take out the batteries. The back end was nice but that was it. The 580C is ok but priced high. Goodluck

Bill Smith

Occupation