• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

What's your scariest moment on a backhoe?

chroniekon

I'm new at operating a backhoe. I recently purchased an older John deere for use on my small farm. The more I get comfortable with it's use, the more I realize there are some safety concerns I'm probably not aware of. I've been around farm equipment all my life and consider myself to be someone with a fair amount of common sense, but at the same time realize there are safety issues that come up that you just never would have thought of that can get you into a dangerous situation. It's a continuous learning process. Things you take for granted that can get you 'injured or seriously killed'.
So what caught you off guard and led to an accident or a close call?

RonG

Charter Member
Occupation
heavy equipment operator
Carry your load low and always be thinking about plan "B" in case something that you planned did not work as planned.Ron G

nilzlofgren

I was digging a swimming pool one time, when the wall gave way. Luckily, I was digging the shallow end. Also, I was facing perpendicular to the wall I was digging, so it was as if i simply backed into the shallow end of the pool. Always wear your seat belt, and never try to jump from the machine, if it starts to tip over.

POND DIGGER

Occupation
Maintenace Manager