• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

What would be faster?

westerveld

This past week we were excavating a pond, and we had stripped out the topsoil/sand and pushed it out to the side of site, later we realized that this pile had to be pushed back an extra 60-80 feet to be out of the way of pond. So my boss told me to push it back with a dozer, so I spent a whole day doing just that. But my question is, what would be quicker, pushing it back with a case 1150 dozer, or bailing it back with a kobelco sk200 mark 8 excavator? I'm not that experienced on a dozer, but it seemed to me that I could have thrown that pile back faster with the kobelco. Just wondering what you actual dozer operators thought? (the pile is about 15 feet high/20-30 feet long) And what if the pile was clay?

vapor300

I personally think it would be faster with a dozer, find a way to work yourself up on top of the pile and start slot pushing just like you would a big dozer

Scrub Puller

Yair . . . westerveld. I think vapor300 is right . . . no question.

He nailed it in one though. You have to do it right. Lots of dozer hands would do that job by shagging around side cutting.

You need to get up on top and get some gravity assist working in a slot.

Cheers

sheepfoot