• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

What scan Computer diagnostic system are yall using? New Biz looking for 1st purchase

DatCoonAss

Occupation
Diesel Mechanic
hello all,
i'm a 30+ year veteran mechanic but just recently stepped out into working for myself full time and needing to purchase some type of laptop or scanner system. I'm kind of an old school guy but obviously in todays electronic everything trucks, a good laptop or scanner system is mission critical. I'd love to hear what you guys are using and the good bad and ugly about how you like it. (would you buy it again? what are the fees to update and how often? )
also anyone have experience with the pirated type systems?

i have experience with Jpro and a few other systems from past employment.
my basic business model is bootstrap everything. i don't like to take out loans cause you never know what the future holds. but with that said lol i do have tool bills.....

Birken Vogt

Charter Member
Watching this thread with interest...

I am a bit more computer oriented than most mechanics I come across. But most of my stuff that I fix is still mechanical, so not a lot of equipment to test out different interfaces on. Otherwise I'd love to be the interface tester type person.

BigWrench55