• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

What materials/alloys are used for excavator booms and sticks?

universalpete

Occupation
Designer
Hello All,

I am a mechanical designer who is new to the heavy equipment industry. My experience is in camera/lighting systems for the glass industry. I am trying to get up to speed as fast as possible so I don't have to ask so many questions and so that I can add value to my work.

I am looking for help understanding common materials used in various parts of excavators and similar equipment. If anyone could chime in on what alloys they are familiar with for various elements of heavy equipment, or let me know of some resources that they would recommend, that would be awesome.

Thanks!

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
Generally the materials used for structures fall into the category of a welded steel structure with castings as reinforcement in critical areas.

1. The steel plate for fabricated box sections is generally a 290 MPa structural steel to a specification something like ASTM A513/A519/A572.
2. The castings would be generally malleable steel and fully weldable when combined with the steel plate as specified above.

7379df

I know this is a pretty old thread but thought i would start here. So if we were going to make repairs on an excavator boom, the above mentioned would be ideal so as to match the original factory metal, correct ? Thanks for any help

Tugger2

50000lb yield plate on most excavator booms , frame components and buckets ive worked on. Qt 400 plate cutting edges and wear bars, 4340 pins induction hardened.

7379df