• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

What is a good used tried and true mini excavator to buy ?

bill fold

Location: between Atlanta/Knoxville/Asheville/Chattanooga/Greenville.

- I am studying the idea of purchasing a good used tried and true mini excavator that can be towed behind a 7.3 diesel dually truck with 2 axle trailer. The upper limits in size.

- needs to be able to pull a 3 foot bucket for field line when doing septic and sewer systems as well as dig the hole for the tank.

- should be able to reasonably dig stumps on a house site. I have rubber tire backhoe loader and larger excavators for the really big stumps. Would like to drift away from rubber tire backhoe loaders as its getting hard to find operators to run them in the mountains terrain.

- Should at least be able to load a smaller dump truck. I have a few ten wheeler dump trucks and can use large excavator for that.

- not sure if I should risk messing with EGR and DEF engines as I have no experience with them. I do a lot of repair myself unless it’s crazy technical such as transmissions or complex engines. But, if it’s worth the risk to buy something newer to gain something, I may try it.

- looking to keep as low of payment and insurance as possible. 30% work in winter and 80% in summer.

- would “like” to have an EROPS cab as the bees are becoming insane as well as summer heat. If the EROPS is a huge deal breaker in price, I’d skip it at a sacrifice.