1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Volvo EC460BLC Engine situation/options

Discussion in 'Excavators' started by Tony Wells, Oct 2, 2019.

  1. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,727
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    It is always better to put the right thing back than to make something else fit. Always those unforeseen slip-ups that waste days and hundreds of dollars. This sounds much better. Plus people will be able to fix it in the future without scratching their heads about what it is.
     
    Tony Wells, Nige and funwithfuel like this.
  2. Vetech63

    Vetech63 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    3,930
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Progress reports are great! Can we at least make this thread 65 + pages? I've been looking for a new record and everyone's been getting their equipment fixed too quick.:D
     
    mg2361, Tony Wells and funwithfuel like this.
  3. Tony Wells

    Tony Wells Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    474
    Occupation:
    HogZilla Keeper
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    I'm a firm believer in not creating mongrels. I spend (read:waste) too much time fixing equipment that comes into the shop already "fixed" in that manner. I suppose it's not the tech/mechanic's fault most of the time, but is a result of pressure from above to get a piece of equipment back in production asap. Of course, that wouldn't always apply to contract service guys, at least most of the time. I'd say they would be guilty of it because of no care for the next guy to work on it, trying to make a quick buck themselves, or other "reasons". What I've determined is that in most cases it takes more time just to figure out what someone else has done to the machine than to undo it and repair it correctly. Coming from a machinist background, and in QA/QC for a good bit of that career, plus a dose of OCD....I don't have a chance. I get irked seeing such shortcuts taken and so-called repairs fail when they show up in the shop.

    I'm just glad I don't have that "stuck" feeling on this one any more. It was beginning to look like I was going to be forced to buy a new engine, which I did find, but it was more than I had budgeted and I didn't care for dealing with the source. At least the decisions are made and work is underway. It appears that it may be the end of the year before I get it back in the yard, so I may miss the writeoff, but it will be there for next year.

    @Vetech63....we just made it to post #63, so unless I post a lot of pictures, I don't think we're going to get 65 pages out of this one LOL. I don't plan on keeping that close tabs on it. The engine shop is about an hour away, and I don't intend to bird-dog them. I have too much other work to send and don't want them to start dreading my visits and phone calls.

    On with the show!
     
    mg2361, Nige and funwithfuel like this.
  4. sfrs4

    sfrs4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    289
    Occupation:
    parts admin
    Location:
    Great Britian
    Great news on finding a refurbish-able engine, keep us updated with your progress. always nice to see them getting built.
     
    Tony Wells likes this.
  5. Tony Wells

    Tony Wells Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    474
    Occupation:
    HogZilla Keeper
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Kind of hate to do it this way, but it's the same machine, so I guess it's part of the saga.

    Got a call to look at it today about a thumb operation issue. Easy fix, op had bumped the hammer/shear switch out and the joystick buttons ceased to function. However, there is a code set now, and it doesn't seem possible for it to be remotely related from what I've found so far. Red flashing alarm lamp atop the display, and a code "128 100 3" showing. All I find is oil pressure related, possibly overvoltage on the 5 volt side, or shorted. I'm not too confident I've found the right code list, but it seems there is a standard for them, SAE J1939. Anyone care/able to add to that? Should be a test procedure somewhere for it. Does Volvo utilize that SAE standard?
     
  6. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,093
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    The B series did use SAE codes. FMI 3 voltage high would indicate signal wire shorted to power or open circuit from 5v to signal via sensor. Simplest thing is check to see if its plugged in all the way, check condition of terminals. Measure voltage on 3 terminals. Ground , 5v and nothing. If you back probe the wire with no voltage when plugged in and running, you should see between. 5v and 4.5 volts. Good luck
     
    Tony Wells and mg2361 like this.
  7. Tony Wells

    Tony Wells Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    474
    Occupation:
    HogZilla Keeper
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Thanks funwithfuel. I guess that's on the menu today. Supposed to start rain tomorrow and I'd rather do this before it starts. That would be 0.5-4.5 volts, correct? It's the signal correlating to oil pressure if I read correctly what I found.
     
    funwithfuel likes this.
  8. Ben Witter

    Ben Witter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    On the outside
    Tony Just be aware some early machines could be 4 wire sensors that include oil temp. Later machines were only oil temp. As FWF said you should see roughly 5v on the supply and with KOEO 0.5v on the signal wire. With the code you have I will bet you see 5v on the signal as well. Like said either loose connector, bad sensor or circuit is interrupted on the supply or signal wires.
     
    funwithfuel and Tony Wells like this.
  9. Tony Wells

    Tony Wells Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    474
    Occupation:
    HogZilla Keeper
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Glad you mentioned that, Ben. I may have passed over a 4 wire sensor by mistake while looking for a 3 wire. Right off the top of my head I don't recall the exact location of the oil pressure sensor, so I'll e digging around a bit. There aren't that many sensors on the engine, as I recall so it shouldn't be too hard to locate. Hopefully it is just a faulty sensor or better yet, a bad connection. This machine operates in a very dusty environment, and connection issues are common on it.

    This one is 15 years old, with a 1 year old complete rebuild on the engine. Runs very nicely, my engine guys did a great job.
     
  10. uffex

    uffex Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,240
    Occupation:
    Admin
    Location:
    Lincoln UK
    This may help
    Kind regards
    Uffex
     
    funwithfuel likes this.
  11. uffex

    uffex Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,240
    Occupation:
    Admin
    Location:
    Lincoln UK
    Opps pasting issue
    upload_2020-12-29_20-16-34.png upload_2020-12-29_20-16-34.png
     
    John C., Tony Wells and funwithfuel like this.
  12. Tony Wells

    Tony Wells Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    474
    Occupation:
    HogZilla Keeper
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Thanks, uffex, that will help. Looks a little awkward to get to, but so be it. Didn't get to it today. Hotter fires. It's the 3rd or fourth digger in the yard, so they can let it sit a day or two.