1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Volco ec240 cam position sensor

Discussion in 'Excavators' started by kevman6, Sep 17, 2021.

  1. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    Is there another way to run the tests without the breakout harness. I don't have one
     
  2. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,004
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    The testing provided shows the value you should see. The pinout will be the same. You are verifying the integrity of the wiring from the ecu out to the sensor. The resistance of the sensor, and whether or not either of the wires are grounded or open.
     
    Paul Council and mg2361 like this.
  3. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    OK I can work with that Thanks I'll let you know how it goes
     
    funwithfuel likes this.
  4. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    YES, fuse cabinet is right behind the cab. I traced the wires back from the cam sensor This is not making sense to me. The wires from the Cam sensor are hard bundled (3) Yellow and two black in one jacket. They go directly to the crank sensor. There are no other wires coming from either sensor. Plug them together and the engine won't start. It will start with the Cam sensor unplugged from the Crank sensor and run good. Unplug the Crank sensor and the engine will not start. Where is the ECU getting is reference from if the Crank sensor and Cam sensor only connect to each other? No other wires coming from either.
    The wires to the Cam sensor only have .19 V to the sensor with the ignition on
     
  5. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,004
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    So at the engine ecu connector EA pin 45 and 46 is there continuity with the cam sensor unplugged? Is there continuity to ground? Please check. It seems you're close to finding the problem.
     
    mg2361 likes this.
  6. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    Having trouble finding the wires at the ECU. Two gigantic plugs with huge bundles of wires. Wires at the sensors are three wire, not two. Yellow and two black. I'm assuming that's the ECU behind the fuse box with two big plug connections on it
     
  7. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    Somewhere
    I'm not quite following what you're saying. From the schematic they are both on their own circuit. SE2703 which is the sensor on the flywheel shows to come from pin location EA46 at the ecm. And pin location #2 at the sensor harness which is the brown and white wire on the engine harness side. The yellow wire is pin location EA45 at the ecm and pin #1 at the sensor harness. I don't see where they are connected to each other. Does any of those wires have continuity from ecm to where it plugs into the sensor. Or shorted to ground or voltage. I believe that your engine ecm is next to the fuse panel. One connection will be EA and the other EB.
     
    mg2361 and funwithfuel like this.
  8. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,004
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    Look for connector CNED which should be a square large connector up near the FCV . It should be mounted in a tin bracket with a torx or alan screw holding together. A twisted pair can rub through each other in the wraps. Once you've identified where the short is, you can go after it or run a separate circuit outside of the loom. When measuring, if shorted to itself, disconnect CNED. If short goes open, measuring at conn EA, you know the problem lies in the engine harness. Then you would measure from CNED 13 to CNED15.
     
    mg2361 and Paul Council like this.
  9. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    Somewhere
    OK. I am about to fire up the laptop and look for a different schematic. I wasn't prompted for a serial number break when looking up these files.
     
    mg2361 likes this.
  10. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,004
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    You have the right one Paul. It's all good. He has a short
     
    mg2361 likes this.
  11. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    Where does the wires head back to the ECU They only go from one sensor to the other, unless I'm missing something
     
  12. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    Somewhere
    If you disconnect the harness from the ecm and look on the side going into the ecm. There are numbers at the end of the rows. For example one row would have a #1 and at the other end #15. So that row would count down the line 1-15. That's how you can find pin EA45 and EA46.
     
    mg2361, kevman6 and funwithfuel like this.
  13. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    Got it, I'm headed back out there
     
  14. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    I had no continuity between 45 or 46 at the ECM and Cam sensor harness connector. When probed with a power probe, at the Cam sensor connector with key off, I had no ground and residual static buzzing at the Yellow wire and one of the black wires. I also checked the Cam end of the harness to the Crank sensor end for continuity between the two ends of the harness, with nothing. I did that because it appears the two are connected by the solid 3 wire hard molded wire harness. Yellow and two black molded together
     
  15. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,004
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    Are you perhaps describing a shield wire or shielding jacket. Twisted pairs often have a 3rd wire wrapping the pair or a foil jacket wrapping the pair to shield RFI from affecting other circuits.
    Can you attach a pic or 2? Again...
     
    mg2361 and Paul Council like this.
  16. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    these are 3 wire sensors, with 3 pins, both the cam and crank
     
  17. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,004
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    See if this makes more sense.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,004
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    You're still looking at 2701 & 2703. Cam is 03 crank is 01.
    EA5 should be ground and common to pin 3 of each sensor. There should be no continuity to pin 1 or 2 of either sensor. Pin 1 to pin 2 should measure approximately 3900 ohms.
    This rectangular connector should be buddied up with another in the same housing. EA is on top EB is on bottom. EB us where the harness comes out of the housing.
    I believe you will have this big round cannon plug for engine harness to the machine. Please see the attachment
    The sensor should ohm out at 3.9k ohm.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. kevman6

    kevman6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    cadillac, Mi
    I couldn't read the pic 16326066178618373103
     
  20. funwithfuel

    funwithfuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,004
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Will county Illinois
    nevermind that the schematic says it is for a 160, it is the same up until 330 where the begin using big bore engines. All the deutz in lighter machines are looking for the same values. What matters is that you get the right configuration. Can you upload an away pic of your engine so we can see what fuel system you have. It seems like you have a tier 3 machine with a tier 2 engine. Just trying to get you the best possible info.
     

    Attached Files:

    mg2361 and Paul Council like this.