1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Trimble Terramodel Users ?

Discussion in 'Computer Applications and 3D Modeling' started by longjrla, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. Tmerr

    Tmerr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lebanon,IN
    3D Modeling

    We are using Trimble Business Center to create our machine control files.

    Here is my question:

    If you have a swale that is 10 feet from top of bank to top of bank, meaning that from center line to top of bank is 5', how do you input the grades if your blade is 10 wide?

    Currently we end up free handing the top of bank and holding the other side a close to "on grade " as possible in manual, but seems like there is a way to attack this.

    Is there a setting in the machine display that will allow you to pick up a grade at the center of the blade even though your masts are on each side of the blade?

    I appreciate any help that you can offer.
     
  2. JDOFMEMI

    JDOFMEMI Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,074
    Location:
    SoCal
    It is pretty simple.
    I may be off a little on the detail of it, but basically you would select the line representing CL to follow for grade control.
    Select control right or control left, depending on which direction you travel
    Make sure your preferenced allow daylighting of the blade. I forget the exact tool to do this, but it is on the screen you select control side from. Also adjust where control is to the edge of the blade. It can be moved.

    You can then follow the toe of the cut, and your blade will cut the plane and stick up over the top.
    On my control panel, I can switch control right or control left with the push of a button so you can turn around with very little effort.

    Basically, the masts "know" where the blade is, and the controller can be set to follow any plane. You can also dial in offset right or left of a line to do backcuts and such.
    If you are need to hang the right side of your blade out into "space", select control left, and the blade will guide from the left side, and keep the plane whill allowing the right side to be out in the air.

    Hopefully some of this made sense
     
  3. Tmerr

    Tmerr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lebanon,IN
    Jerry,

    I get it, thanks for your help.

    How long have you been using the GPS? Are you creating your own models?

    Tom
     
  4. longjrla

    longjrla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Highway Construction Survey Dept. Full Time, Resid
    Location:
    Fingerlakes, NY
    Tom,
    As Jerry was explaining switching from blade tip right / left, assuming you are using a Sitevision or GCS900 system on your dozer, you can also create custom vertical guidance points on your blade that are offset any distance from either tip in the Vertical Guidance Setup Menu. We have found this usefull in situations as the break you are trying to cut is narrower than half your blade width.

    The daylighting of the blade that Jerry was referring to is noted as "adjust cut to avoid overcut = no". Although the blade will daylight automatically if the grade below the portion of the blade is above the "plane" of the vertical guidance point, setting this to "no" will allow any portion of the blade outside the vertical guidance point to cut below the design surface creating an undercut.
     
  5. Tmerr

    Tmerr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lebanon,IN
    Hey guys, I used your info from the weekend and it worked like a champ. Thanks again for the info. How long have your been using the Trimble equipment?
     
  6. Tmerr

    Tmerr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lebanon,IN
    Does anyone have any suggestions for a training program for 3D Modeling. We are using Trimble right now and are have a few issues with our models.
     
  7. longjrla

    longjrla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Highway Construction Survey Dept. Full Time, Resid
    Location:
    Fingerlakes, NY
    I would say to try and contact your Trimble dealer first. Our dealer here in the North East often offers training classes and seminars and/or can help with setting something up. If no luck there, PM me, I know of a few people who travel to companies for such training.
     
  8. Tmerr

    Tmerr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Lebanon,IN
    Thanks for the info!