1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Tractor brush mower modified to fit mini excavator??

Discussion in 'Compact Equipment Attachments' started by Canuck Digger, Jan 17, 2019.

  1. Canuck Digger

    Canuck Digger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Occupation:
    Business Owner, Equipment Operator, Fishing Guide
    Location:
    Mission, BC, Canada
    So this old timer I work with once in a while has this not so pretty mower that he claims works pretty good on his little 35. (cuts brush up to 2") He made it buying a used tractor brush mower for $500, couple of welded brackets, ears and a hydraulic pump and she works like a charm. under $1200 all in. I'm looking at small brush mowers for my mini and they're about 10K. Anyone else ever done such project? How did it work out? Any other thoughts? Thx.
     
  2. fast_st

    fast_st Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171
    Occupation:
    IT systems admin
    Location:
    Mass
    Ask said old timer for help making one for yourself? Sounds like a dandy of a project!!
     
  3. Canuck Digger

    Canuck Digger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Occupation:
    Business Owner, Equipment Operator, Fishing Guide
    Location:
    Mission, BC, Canada
    Yeah was just wondering what the performance difference would be. If I can get 80% of the performance compared to an excavator"intended" brush cutter for 20% of the cost, it's a no brainer. One of the things I did notice is it does not look very robust. The tin is pretty thin. We ll see. Would have to look into installing a case drain I'm assuming
     
  4. fast_st

    fast_st Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171
    Occupation:
    IT systems admin
    Location:
    Mass
    I think case drain depends on the type of pump, a straight gear pump may not need one
     
  5. 245dlc

    245dlc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Occupation:
    Heavy Equipment Operator
    Location:
    Canada
    Usually you need a case drain for the axial piston type motors as they have little weeping ports to help lubricate the internals. You'll also have to look in to heavy duty bearings and what everything is going to weigh once you are done.
     
  6. DIYDAVE

    DIYDAVE Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,476
    Location:
    MD
    I made one, fer my ASV RC30. Used the gear box outta 4' 3 point hitch mower, gotta hyd motor from surpluscenter.com, that was the right flow and pressure fer my machine, and ran close to 540 RPM. Direct coupled the motor to the gearbox drive shaft, then welded a bracket into place to hold the motor, using the scientific method of picking up the motor, and seein where the halfway point, between too far up, and too far down was, then welded it there. Body of it I made outta 1/4" steel, as the 3PH mower's sheet metal was rotted away. I've made so many attachments, fer the RC-30, I have a jig made, to make the detach plate... I would guess I had about 1250 in it, about 10 years ago. Only hadda replace the stump jumper on it cause the old wan was wore out at the keys fer the blades, and I got tired of listening to the blades beat on the sides of the box. OH, and this year, I hadda replace the 1/2" X 3" shear bolt...;)
     
    Labparamour and 245dlc like this.
  7. rondig

    rondig Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    fort macleod alberta
    Case drains are based on seal shaft back pressures...usually the higher the rpms...the more a case drain is required on gear motors...piston motors use the case drain for cooling.. also make sure you have a quick acting cross over relief to protect motor against sudden stop...also if A port and B port are connected to pressure ports it will protect motor seal from over pressure at instant stop... also there is a major waste of potential energy going through the mechanical gear box...low speed/high torque motors are more efficient.
     
    245dlc likes this.
  8. Canuck Digger

    Canuck Digger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Occupation:
    Business Owner, Equipment Operator, Fishing Guide
    Location:
    Mission, BC, Canada
    Yes, I understand case drain is a good idea.
    Holy Crap rondig. I envy guys like you that have their brain wrapped around all this stuff. I like running equipment and thinking jobs through, but the mcgiver mechanical stuff is foreign concept for the most part. Trying though.. Gona go and see if I can adjust my aux circuit pressure from 1950PSI to 2700. Now that's a task. lol..
     
  9. rondig

    rondig Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    fort macleod alberta
    Well i have an unfair advantage..i started life as a hydraulic shop grunt and moved up to authorized sauer and rexroth rebuilder...then i opened my own shop to build custom seismic drills and hydraulic system design for oil and gas companies from scratch...sold that business 8 years ago...and took over my dad excavation business. Still do the odd design and rebuild in winter when things get frozen and cant dig any more.
    I just came back from a 5 day sauer course on their new 5-24 mil amp system for the new power match system they plan on putting in new hoes and skid steers to meet even tighter emission standards.....i hate emission standards....but figured i would stay current for my own stuff....besides the courses are a way to party away from home without getting into trouble.
     
    245dlc likes this.
  10. rondig

    rondig Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    fort macleod alberta
    Dont forget to reset valve or u will bend your thumb ram
     
  11. rondig

    rondig Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    fort macleod alberta
    I see your in mission bc...i am near lethbridge alberta....do u mind telling your buddies over there we need the pipeline....lol
     
    245dlc likes this.
  12. Canuck Digger

    Canuck Digger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Occupation:
    Business Owner, Equipment Operator, Fishing Guide
    Location:
    Mission, BC, Canada
    lol. Yes you/we do need one. I'm all pro. Just makes sense. What a soap opera that's become...... Maybe you just need a premier that can ask "nice".

    A real silly question....... I understand/well aware of bending the thumb ram with the increased pressure. Not sure what you mean by re-setting the valve.
     
  13. rondig

    rondig Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    fort macleod alberta
    Well when you up the pressure for mower....you will have to set it back down for thumb
     
  14. 245dlc

    245dlc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Occupation:
    Heavy Equipment Operator
    Location:
    Canada
    We have to do that with our 160 we've got a Promac Brush Cutter and it requires 4000 or 5000 psi (I can't remember) and the thumb around 2500-3000 I think. We didn't bend the cylinder or anything that dramatic but it did start leaking out of the seals and a pipe fitting, and the boss didn't understand till I told him he has to set the relief valve to use the thumb. However with our Kobelco 210 which is about 5 or 6 years newer you just reset the relief valve through the display in the cab which is quite a bit more convenient.
     
  15. rondig

    rondig Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    fort macleod alberta
    Yep my newer kubota is same...older one i learned the hard way...bent ram when i curled bucket back ...yikes...
     
  16. JD8875

    JD8875 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Harrisonville, Missouri
    Im like your friend and a cheap skate... I built a mower for my skid steer out of crap I scrounged out of the junk pile. The mower a family member junked because "the gearbox was bad" truthfully they hit a tire and jammed the swing bar. The motor came from a street sweeper I junked out years ago, I built my own plate, I use a simple in line pressure relure valve "T'd" between the hoses. When you shut it down the relief opens up and oil flows in a circle through the motor and about 4ft of each hose.

    The deck could be heavier, and I've bent it. The gearbox doesn't hold oil, so I've filled it with gun grease like every other mower on the farm. It's ugly as hell, but it's a money maker in a hurry.

    John