• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Track Steer - Brush Cutter Advice

Kurley

Hi Everyone,
I am new to the forums and would like to say "WoW" and "Thanks" what a wonderful wealth of information on so many equipment topics. Okay, on to my questions I recently aquired a 1997 ASV MD 70 Please forgive me I am a complete newbie and I hope I did not get taken by my ignorance but I had no choice considering the astranged circumstances that revolved around it. I basicly paid $8000.00 for the steer, trailer, grapple bucket, straight bucket and a set of forks, the unit has 1701 hours on it it starts right up not a drop of smoke and seems to be in really good working order from just putzing around on it out back. The unit is very difficult to find any information about it because of its age, I am wanting to clear some brush and small tree's this fall cutting 4 wheeler trails and I am lost with the whole High Flow topic, there is a lever on the lower left side of the floor that is labled PTO if pushed forward and AUX if pushed backwards does that mean it has a HF option?. When it is left in the middle the small lever on the right operates the grapples. I have included a picture of the unit. I see so many different types of brush cutters and I'm not looking to spend ton's of money as it will really only be used on my personal property, these brush cutters seem to run from $2000.00 up to mega bucks. I am hoping someone here has had some personal experience with a unit like this and can help guide me in a direction to get my best bang for the buck with out me having to trade off my first born(just kiddin). I have been able to l