• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

DozerPlowBoy

I am looking at several used D8T's on the market. Most of which have 24" wide track shoe's. We need a bigger tractor to assist our 80K# excavator and grapple in clearing fence rows here in Ohio (farm ground). I have plenty of experience in smaller machines but little if any with D8 size. Considering the typical weight of the machine would you stay with 24" or look for wider? -Oh, and no, I'm not in a swamp, playing in sand or pushing rocks in a quarry. :p

firedozer

I had both Cat D8Ks and Cat D8Rs, and tried 22in., 24in., and 26in. shoes. The 26 inch shes were on the 8K. two sets in fact, till I switched to 24inch.
Cat says use the narrow shoe possible for undercarrige life. The one thing that stood out was side hill stability. while the wider tracks gave a wider footprint. the 22 inch shoes allowed for less sidehill sliding.
The 8R had 22 inch shoes, and I would not hesitate to run them again. Had good all around traction less turn drag, good side hill grip.
As far as flotation goes, Never saw what could be defined as a real advantage of the wider shoe. If soft under foot conditions are going to be most of you work, I would look to a LGP machine,.
In what ever class you think you need.
Keep in mind the larger the machine the more expensive the cost to own and operate. Undercarriage will historically be a very large cost of ownership.

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
Cat says use the narrowest shoe possible for undercarrige life.