• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Thinking about getting into heavy haul. Opinions?

Rustedcutlery

Hey guys, long time lurker, first time poster.

For the past few years I have been wanting to get a lowboy and going into to business for myself. I have hauled small equipment such as skid steers, mini-x, rollers, telehandlers, and various attachments with my diesel pickup and tri axle gooseneck when I worked for a komatsu/link belt/jcb/terex dealer. I know I didn't do it the legal way as I didn't have any permits or commercial plates, but I loved it.

When I worked at the dealership as a mechanic, I loaded about any type of equipment you can think of. From 627 and ts14 scrapers, 400 class hoes, larger loaders (wa470 and wa500), graders, double drum and pad foot rollers, grove 765 cranes, d155 dozers, all on lowboys and step decks. I don't have a issue with running a dozen or hoe up a steep set of ramps. I also helped the truckers chain down and learned a thing or two.

I have experience driving and working on trucks, I farm with my dad and have a few trucks. Iv been looking at Kaufman, talbert, and trail king 55 ton hyd detatchs eventually I would like to get a stinger and maybe even a jeep. The price on the kaufmans sure seams nice, but are they as good as the others? I would go with a wetkit on the truck, mainly some wouldn't have to deal with another motor to start.