• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

The job you put off

Old Doug

I think i have been adding coolant for more than 4 years to my Ford because it had a leak out the back off one head. The last 3 summers i add water thinking that winter i would fix it then winter came and i had to refill with antifreeze. Sunday i got the shop cleaned out it fit with room to spare. It has one of those engines that there is no way to tell what size it is until its apart. I got one head off tonight and its a 330 if i force my self i could have it back together buy the weekend.

Old Doug

I got the other head off tonight and was going to start cleaning parts but the shop is cold and i am worn out. picture (53).pngBefore i put this engine in i cleaned it and painted it. It looked great but it leaked coolant like no other from every were new hose leaked were they went on pipethreaded parts leaked i fixed a leak every time i used it. The head was also leaking and i didnt know until i got the other leaks fixed.The coolant striped the ford blue off like paint stripper.

Old Doug

It took a week longer than i thought and i fixed some other small problems. The shop is down a hill and the lane is covered in ice so i left it tn there. I backed it out of the shop today thinking i would leave it setting in front of the shop but it didnt have any problem with the snow and ice. Now i can start another put off project.

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry