1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

The JLG 40F Boom Lift Dilemma

Discussion in 'Other Construction/Demolition Equipment' started by od1, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Rick39, I've played around with that adjustment. There is little response. I have it centered in that either direction the engine rpm's drop. Did you say there is a filter screen in there?
     
  2. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
     
  3. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada

    Okay today was better Dave, I installed the diode. I wasn't sure of the properties so I just matched one to the 2 that were in the panel. Found out the hard-way that it's directional. Charge is great, and all switches are functioning again. Thanks again OFF. You are amazing man!
     
  4. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    As for the Racine solenoid's they are grounded. I'm leaning towards me assembling them wrong. I put it together with the leads facing the outside of the body. Then goes the larger liner with the taper side towards the center. Then goes the spring. Then goes the smaller liner with the taper facing the center. Then the thick end plate held in place by the long bolts (x4). As for the inside, the spool or shuttle followed by the flat washer with cut outs they go on each end. Then the 2 springs, one on each side, then the push rod assembly one on each side.

    If anyone has pictures or drawings or schematics from the company that would be great. If I press and hold the brass push pins on each end the valve works. I have voltage up to the solenoid when the switch is engaged in both directions. You can feel it push back when you through the switch but it's like it's not strong enough to work. If it were one of them I'd say it must have worn out but all six at once probably not. Any input welcome. Thanks,
     
  5. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    Anyone out there with Bertea knowledge? Here's where I'm at.

    I am thinking the problem is within these 2 valves. I have zero functions from the Bertea valve body. ZERO.
    Even when I manually engage the valve body nothing works.

    I have dismantled the valve body and cleaned it. Removed the fine screen in that body and cleaned it.

    The dump valve has been cleaned and a new solenoid and valve has been installed, even though the old one checked out fine.

    Adjusted the Mobile-Monoblock valve pictured. It did nothing, no change in anything so I placed it back where it was
    (I hope).

    MONOBLOCK.JPG

    Adjusted the Fluid Control Valve pictured and cleaned it out. Did not find any filter in there.

    Fluid Control 2F95-P4-4-4-15S.JPG

    Thanks again for everyone's help especially OFF who I've tortured now since giving birth to this thread.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2017
  6. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi, I found a break-down and assembly of the Racine solenoids. I put them together correctly so I'm still unsure what's going on there.
     
  7. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada

    I'd like to put a test port on the pilot control valve pictured here. It's the one marked Fluid Control inc. It has a drain plug that is 1/4 inch below the adjuster. Does anyone know if I would get an accurate read from there?
    Thanks again,
     
  8. jokins

    jokins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    michigan
    Hello. I have an old 40F that I'd love to have any available manuals for. I see this forum has been amazing at supporting those of us with these old lifts.
    I've been unable to determine if mine uses Racine or Bertea valves yet. I'd really appreciate if you guys would be willing to email manuals for both to me. My email linked to my profile will work.
    Thank you in advance.
     
  9. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic/Shop Foreman
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Manuals Sent :)
     
  10. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,216
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Welcome to HEF jokins. The Racine/Bertea valve discussion only applies to the proportional functions drive, boom lift, and swing, other functions are bang valves. It's pretty easy to distinguish between the two, they both are a stack of three valves where the Racine valves have two coils with wires going to them on each stack of the three valves, Bertea valves are different because they have noticeable "control knobs" to manually operate the valves in the absence of electrical control power, Racine valve do not have those manual control knobs.
     
  11. GTRClive

    GTRClive Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Calgary
    WOW now this is content AA++ Lads question to follow I'm sure when My Machine finally arrives..
     
  12. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic/Shop Foreman
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Welcome GTRClive. Are you getting a JLG 40F in the future?
     
  13. GTRClive

    GTRClive Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Calgary
    Well short story.... I bought a 40H 6 weeks ago, from a local Equipment company, for the price i paid they where going to service it. It was 300klicks away at another depot so knowing they agreed it would be fully working I was happy... In the end I lost my sh1t over it as they kept coming up with lame excuses as to why it wasn't ready for shipping to me. Asked for my money back and in the end they gave me a discount and they delivered it for free (was going to cost me $600 to ship).... It finally came yesterday and sure enough it couldn't even drive of the rig or down my drive.... Had to unlock the axles and drag in down the drive....
    So lets say I was really happy to find this forum with like minded Muppets like me that loves to fix things them selves....
    Oh I just saw your in AB to... Calgary or Ed ??
     
  14. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic/Shop Foreman
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    40H's are pretty straight forward, shouldn't be a problem getting it moving again. It will most likely be a lack of current getting down from the basket or a lack of hydraulic pressure at the right times. I believe you can still download the 40H manuals directly from the JLG website. Adventure time!

    I'm in the Edmonton area.
     
  15. excavator

    excavator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Pacific North West
    I've been working on a 60F with travel problems. When I move the travel controller one way there is nothing, the other way bogs down the engine but no movement. Wire #13 goes to approx. 6 volts when controller is moved off of center and then down to .54 one way and up to 9.45 the other. Wire #14 goes to approx. 10 volts off of center and does not change. Any ideas?
     
  16. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic/Shop Foreman
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    The controller is working fine. What happens if you pull one of the other levers just a bit and then try to travel? Any difference?

    Racine proportional valve bank, right? Will travel work manually on ground control when you push in the little pins?

    Have you tried to center the spool? On ground control, turn the allen head adjust screw (it's pointing at the ground) outward until the function starts to engage, then turn it in until the opposite function starts to engage. Count the turns from one to the other, leave it in the middle of the two and retighten the lock nut.
     
  17. excavator

    excavator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Pacific North West
    Thanks OFF, I'll try this next time I'm out there. I forgot to mention that I did switch wires back by the valve, between the drive and the swing controller and then the machine would move.
     
  18. BDub1370

    BDub1370 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Man! This is like a gold mine. We just started working on a 40F today and I have been looking high and low for info on these things. It is pretty scarce. It would be awesome if I could get a set of those drawings, OFF.

    I think this is probably the longest running forum thread that I have ever come across.
     
  19. BDub1370

    BDub1370 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Anyone know where to find some of the bigger wheels/tires? Mine has the solid tires. Doesn't do very well on the ground. Are the hubs the same size as newer models?
     
  20. RSIGuy

    RSIGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Occupation:
    Restoration Contractor
    Location:
    Minnesota
    BDub,

    I have went to our Cenex Coop (not sure you have one down there) and they cross referenced or matched the existing with a similar tire. We have a standard farm type tire you'd find on a wagon perhaps on the front (we foam filled them) and a standard one you'd find on the rear of a tractor (also foam filled). I can't answer the question on the hubs. I have been trying to find out for a couple of years if any of the drive motors from later years will work on my "76" model as I have one that is worn enough it won't hold fluid with new seals. Good luck