1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

The JLG 40F Boom Lift Dilemma

Discussion in 'Other Construction/Demolition Equipment' started by od1, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes !


    :notworthy
     
  2. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,738
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    The problem with non-conductive hose in tight bends is that, unlike rubber wire braid hose, non-conductive will kink, and when it does it weakens the hose wall and it will fail. Aside from that, it would work fine in a number of places on your machine.


    Wow OFF, a set of readable 40F drawings...that's sweet and rare. :D
     
  3. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    904
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada

    I found my old stash of JLG treasure, not only 40F in Bertea, but also in Racine, PQ, and Cutler/Hamer.
    60F in all configs, even Moog/Moog, 80F racine, and 40G. :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2009
  4. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,738
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    LoL, you realize that you probably have stuff there that not even JLG has now? When I was training at JLG, they had a 40G in front of the building. That's a rare machine. :D
     
  5. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    904
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    A company I worked for from 82 to 84 had a pair of 40G 4x4's. Nice machines.

    Yeah, I've got all the factory size 17 x 22 drawings. Some of them are even original "blue print" blues. :D
    Also in those files were all the internal diagrams for the latching relays and lockout systems. I''ll pm you my contact info, if you ever need that old stuff, just rattle my chain.
     
  6. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,738
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    LoL...at present, I'd just like to have the wiring schematics for the 40F. :cool:
     
  7. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    904
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Soon as I figure out how to scan a 17 x 22 sheet of paper :beatsme
     
  8. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    Maybe @ a commercial copier place. They could scan it and load a copy onto a memory stick. I’d pay the costs.
     
  9. twebbjr

    twebbjr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    California
    jlg 40F Lift PQ controllers and cards

    I need some help, my pq controller for my JLG 40F is not working. This particular controller uses PWM (Pulse Width Modulation) does anyone have any working boards I could obtain? Even a schematic of the PCB might be a great help.

    Best regards,

    Tim

    webb@sonic.net
     
  10. twebbjr

    twebbjr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    California
    Can you make 4 scans, scanning 1/4 of the schematic at a time then we can tape it together?
     
  11. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,738
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN

    Are you having an issue with all the controllers? Or just one? Describe the probelm your having as best you can.

    BTW, welcome to the forum.
     
  12. twebbjr

    twebbjr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    California
    pq controller for 40F jlg lift

    Actually I think we are having problems with 2 or actually (1 and a half) controllers, I was told that the good controller was swapped around to determine that the controllers were bad.

    To make things more fun, the lift is in Michigan and I am in California.
    The controller was sent to me for repair. I am an Electrical Engineer.
    I currently have the UP/Down controller here.

    A schematic of the PCB would be very useful if one exists.

    The PCB it self does not have a part number but it does say it is a PWM controller made by P-Q controls, Bristol, CT USA.

    I have a copy of the "Basket Control Wiring Diagram (Racine)." it shows 3 controllers swing, lift, and Drive all noted with "P/N 11600001(REF)"

    Does any of this information help or sound familiar?

    best regards,

    Tim
     
  13. twebbjr

    twebbjr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    California
    The problem is that the bad controller does not do anything when operated,
    it is completly dead.

    Tim
     
  14. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,738
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Oh yeah...it's familiar stuff on one. When you said you had PWM on a 40F I knew your were working with Racine proportional valves. I haven't worked on one of those, I've worked on 40F's that use Bertea valves. I'm not sure which circuit board you have, many PQ boards are expoxy filled and kinda hard to repair, but yours may be an open board and you can do something with it. If no success, there's a number of places you can obtain replacement boards, probably somone in Cal where you are. The place I use is Hindley Electronics in Ohio, you can do a search and find their website. If you want specs of your controller, you can get that from the PQ website, here's the link;

    http://www.pqcontrols.com/index.html

    Click on single axis joysticks in left column, then you can determine which model you have. Probably going to be model 100 or 120. Then click on "Data Central" tab in left column, click on single axis joysticks. Click on Example Installation Drawing for a model 120. One of the drawings on the PDF may be similar to yours. Make sure your looking at a 12V input drawing. Hope that helps a little.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
  15. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    Man, I wish I knew that before I ordered 100 feet of 16/24. As for the oil comment that is really valuable for me thanks. Do you know how many gallons the tank holds?
    OFF supplied me with clean schematics for the Bertea system. Hopefully I’ll be able to use them properly.
    Maybe you can answer a question I have. The wiring is going over an open whole at the top of the boom. When everything is retracted this whole is near the basket. I think all of the wires (the 16/24, etc.) are supposed to pass through there, but on mine it doesn’t. Any ideas? If I’m not clear I could take a picture of it.

    Thanks again twebbjr for all of your time on this.
    OD1
     
  16. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,738
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Hey od1, I was curious how your 40F was coming along, hadn't heard anything from you for a while. Your Bertea valves have work nothing like the Racine valves that twebbjr has on his machine, so the PQ controller is not the same, the Bertea controller does not use PWM. It's been years since I've been around a 40F, send some pics of the hole you described if you can. ;)
     
  17. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for the info. ATCO. As for the hole I’ll get a picture together as soon as I can. I think the wires are supposed to go through it but I guess you’ll know when you see the pic.
    I have to order 2 more lines and all of the hydraulic lines before I’ll start. Knowing the lengths of the wiring and line is a huge help. Any idea on the hydraulic oil capacity? The tank is huge.
     
  18. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    904
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Welcome :)

    I have the common PQ PWM controller boards used on the 40F's (in my dead stock) as well as all the drawings.
    Usually when a PQ controller is completely dead it's the micro switch mounted right on the board, (activated by the cam on the pot) that's the problem. That's something you can check.
    I'll email you a set of PQ/Racine 40F drawings this morning.
     
  19. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,738
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Hey od1, since OFF is taking care of twebbjr and his PWM boards, I've got something for you showing how your PQ controller works the Bertea coils.

    Power comes to the controller at the A terminal, then goes to the micro switch (neutral switch on drawing) that's operated by a cam on the side of the controller. When you move the controller in either direction, it operates the switch, which sends power to the C terminal (which goes to the dump valve), and also sends voltage through two resistors to the B and D terminals, and finally to the coil. Since the valve coil has equal postive voltage from either side, and no ground at this point, the coil does not react to move the valve. Back at the controller is the 100 ohm potentiometer which connects between the wires going to B and D terminals. In lever neutral, the pot is centered, making equal resistance to the B and D wires, and the sweep (the arrow coming from the F terminal) inside the pot connects to ground. So you have equal voltage going through the resistors to the coil, and the voltage is being reduced by the resistor in the pot going to ground, everything is balanced. Now, move the controller full stroke to CW rotation. That makes the sweep (arrow) go fully to one side. Now the voltage on B increases because the ground F has moved farther away from it via the pot resistor change, this increases voltage on the B wire going to coil. Likewise, the D wire has a more direct path to ground F because the sweep has moved closer to the D wire and decreased the resistance path. Now you have voltage going to one side of the coil winding and a ground coming back from coil winding which causes valve to shift. ;)



    View attachment PQ Bertea wiring.bmp
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2009
  20. od1

    od1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Occupation:
    Marketing heayy equipment
    Location:
    Canada
    Perfect! I'm going to start printing all of this out.
    I really appreciate all of your input on this. That info will help me diagnose a problem I have with the forward and reverse.

    I’ll be posting some pictures of the wiring, etc. at the boom near the platform. There’s a 2 inch hole there that is empty. I think the hose and cable are supposed to go through there. Maybe it’s just the cable? Does anyone know? Also someone made a splice in one spot further back (check photo.) That splice is sitting on top but I think it should be below.
    If anyone has any idea on this please reply to this forum.