• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Telematics

jcha8765

Hello,

I am a graduate student currently doing some research on how telematics is utilized in the heavy equipment industry.
I would like to get professionals' insights on this. So if you have some time, it would be great if you can answer to some of the questions below!

1. Have you used telematics?
2. Which product?
3. What did you like/dislike about it?
4. If you don't use it, why?

Thank you so much for your time!

crane operator

1. No
2. see above
3. see above
4. My fleet is small, the real use is for large rental fleets with huge #'s of equipment in far flung locations. Most of the info is useless. I'd be more interested in equipment manufactures spending resources on making their equipment more reliable, than spending $$ on making me deal with their telematics working to solve the problems.

NepeanGC

Occupation
#dirtherder
1. Yes
2. OEM
3. Only useful thing it tells me is fuel level, but I've got a slip tank on my truck, so that doesn't really matter. Everything else I couldn't care less about.
It is a parasitic battery drain that drives me nuts. It's sent me emails to tell me my battery voltage is low. None of my machines without telematics fail to start...Only the ones with telematics have repeatedly needed boosting, and killed batteries in under a 2 years.