• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Spanner wrench for Hyd Cylinders

barnbuilder

I need to put new seals in the tilt cylinders on my A300. What kind or brand of spanner wrench do you guys use?

crane operator

Hammer and a punch or chisel. Real mechanics hate people like me.

I keep looking at buying a set of the adjustables in martin/ williams or something, when I have the spare $.

Junkyard

Occupation
Field Mechanic
Now now. Hate is an awful strong word....I've resorted to the same thing on occasion. Hell, I'm not sure if I'm a real mechanic anyway! Smaller cylinders can be done in simple ways usually, unless it's stuck solid you shouldn't have to beat on it until it's boogered up. Spanners are made farily easy too

crane operator

In my own defense, most of the time the cylinders I work on are at least 5-8" around, and they don't make many spanners that large anyways. I don't think I'd buy a spanner wrench to just do one small cylinder.

Every cylinder I try to take apart is stuck junkyard- you must get the easy work. ;)

Junkyard

Occupation
Field Mechanic
Oh I've had my share I've chased around the shop or about broke some big stuff over! Tilt cylinders won't be bad. As far as your big ones yeah the tooling for them gets to be sparse at best. As long as you grind the boogers off after assembly I suppose I can let it slide :cool:

Bumpsteer

Occupation
Mechanical designer
When I had the tilt cylinder rebuilt on my 743, I went to the dealer. They did it while I played with new equipment in the yard and the labor price was not worth my time to mess with it.

Ed

ScottAR