• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Snowcat:Fluid change interval

snowcat

Hi,

Total hydrostatic newbie here.

I just bought a Litefoot snowcat with Sauer Series 90 pump and Volvo F11 motors. This is a low hour snowcat (1042 hours), with Chevron AW 32 being put in it about 30 hours ago. The problem is, that was five+ years ago.

So my question is, does this fluid degrade over time, despite having very low hours on it?

And, in your opinion, is Chevron AW 32 a good fluid to use with these pumps/motors?

Thanks in advance. I initially posted this in skid steer, sorry for the x-post.
...-54-41_633.jpg

blitz138

Typically oils have a shelf life of 7-10 years. With it being in your machine however it has been exposed to all different kinds of contaminants. The Chevron AW (antiwear) 32 your using is a pretty plain oil, its not expensive. I would definitely change the oil, if it were me I would flush it as well.

Btw what part of Utah are you from?

snowcat

Typically oils have a shelf life of 7-10 years. With it being in your machine however it has been exposed to all different kinds of contaminants. The Chevron AW (antiwear) 32 your using is a pretty plain oil, its not expensive. I would definitely change the oil, if it were me I would flush it as well.

Btw what part of Utah are you from?

I live in Sandy.

Thanks for the advice. That's what I'm going to do.

snowcat

Any idea of ATF Type F is compatible with Chevron AW 32? I've heard good things and lots of recommendations for ATF Type F in snowcats.

cutting edge