• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Small track loader vs CTL over all cost

Cat E70b

I was wondering if anyone had done a cost comparison on a small track loder like 455g John deere to a large CTL ? ctl's seem to get less hours out of undercarriage components and drive moters. I would love to hear your thoughts .

Scrub Puller

Yair . . . Cat E70b. I have often wondered that myself.

I have no experience in the seat of either machine but I have hired both CTL's and a small track loader on several occasions and although the applications do overlap the machines and how they are operated are like chalk and cheese.

I think if some of the cowboys on the CTL's would slow down a bit, think, and make the machine work instead of buzzing around hither and yon around like a bloody blowfly component life could be improved.

In comparison the track loader can appear ponderous but I found that it got the job done with a minimum of fuss and I am yet to be convinced that a fifty or eighty horsepower engine screaming at full revs all day is the most effective way to move a bit of dirt.

Cheers.

JNB

Occupation
Flyin' low and rollin' slow...
If all I was doing with my CTL was moving dirt, I would for sure be trading it for a small track loader yesterday.

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
If all I was doing with my CTL was moving dirt, I would for sure be trading it for a small track loader yesterday.

I agree both machines have their place, that's why there's a 953 and a T250 in my mix.