• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

seeking guidance shuttle shift issues

Kevin Brouse

I spent several hours reviewing threads on here, and did not find anything that related to my particular problem.

so, here goes:

A newbie here to the forum. I am exasperated, and running out of ideas.

So, the story begins... Recently rebuilt a power shuttle 580K (pre 200000 serial, lighter trans) Filter screen was clogged, burned the clutches.

Put complete kit in, with new charge pump. Worked fine 1 and 2nd gear puttering around doing some light work. Went to move it down the highway a few miles in 3rd gear it suddenly disconnected/freewheeled in forward, reverse worked for a while longer.

Took trans back out to make sure I didn't miss anything, all was good. Re installed, this time was doing the pressure checks. In the process of warming the transmission oil up (stalling in 4th) it "uncoupled" again. Cooling circuit pressure was a little on the low side, so we decided to install a rebuilt converter.

Installed the rebuilt converter, same thing, as soon as we warm it up a bit, forward goes away, reverse works for a little while longer. Charge pressure remained good at all times.

full disclosure #1 while going through the cylindrical valve body and replacing all the items that came in the kit, I lost a critical part. I then bought a complete new valve body and installed it.

so... my next step is to check the pressures on the actual forward and reverse galleys, while leaving the cooling pressure and charge pressure gauges also installed. Thoughts?