• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Scraper blades

southernman13

Occupation
Retired
We recently bought a couple used 14 yrd pans. We’re finally getting around to using one of them. Question on the cutting edges that load the pan. Both of these pans have 3 bolt on blades and the one in the middle sticks down about 3” further than the 2 outside blades. They look original like they’ve not been replaced. Is that normal? I don’t see being able to get a smooth grade with it like that. I’m new to pans so I really don’t know lol. Thanks

Bootheal

Someone else will give you a more real answer than I. My baby scraper has a similar configuration. I think the extended blade in the middle is to pull the cutting edge into the dirt. Somewhere, someone referred to it as a frost blade. On my little 5 yd. scraper, I don’t think it will dig in frozen ground.

Tones

Occupation
Ex land clearing contractor, part-time retired
Having the centre section lower is normal and makes it easier to pull when loading. Some change the centre section to straight across for final trim but usually elevator scrapers loading windrows.

Vetech63

Yes its normal. Think of it as a plow.....that one will penetrate and help spread dirt to the others on the outside to gather.

Bluox