1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Saw a Zaxis 200 with a blade...

Discussion in 'Excavators' started by spitzair, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. spitzair

    spitzair Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    Squamish BC (Home), Slave Lake, AB (Work)
    Happy new year everybody! In my travels the other day I saw a Hitachi Zaxis 200 with a blade. I've never seen a machine that size other than a Bladerunner with a blade... Unfortunately I wasn't able to get a picture of it, it was on a lowbed heading the other direction. I've operated smaller machines with blades on them and think that a 200 size machine with a blade would be the cat's meow! What do you guys think? What would be involved to put a blade on a bigger machine? I guess you'd need another circuit through the center swivel at least and an extra hydraulic valve, but are the stock track motors up to the job? Just curious. If I see the machine again I'll do my best to get some pictures!
     
  2. komatsuman1

    komatsuman1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    bc canada
    spitzair i agree i have a komatsu 200 and would love to have a blade have no info to share, where exactly did you see the zaxis all the best to you and all the HEO outthere
     
  3. spitzair

    spitzair Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    Squamish BC (Home), Slave Lake, AB (Work)
    Komatsuman,
    I saw it in Cache Creek (BC) it was heading North on Highway 97...
     
  4. Vantage_TeS

    Vantage_TeS Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Occupation:
    HE Operator. Surprise?
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Well the big advantage is you'd be able to put it in the rear (extra counterweight!) and use it to level your bench off as you back up while loading trucks. You wouldn't be able to do all sorts of heavy dozing with it but it would work to smooth off piles/end of piles/as something to pin things up against while trying to get them in the bucket.
     
  5. special tool

    special tool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Bethel, Ct.
    That's exactlty right.
    Can't say how many times I've seen local turkeys trying to push 100 yards with a Hyundai 100, or some piece of crap like that - the machine is not a dozer.
     
  6. Deeretime

    Deeretime Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    superintendent
    Location:
    High River Alberta
    I demoed a deere 135 recently and i was told that it had stock track motors and it worked realy well for its sise.
    I have thought about doing this before and i dont think that it would be to difficult to attempt. I have heard that in the 90's deere was offering a blade kit for the 690Elc but the only ones they knew of around were in the us millitary.
     
  7. JTL

    JTL Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Occupation:
    IUOE Local 302
    Location:
    Pacific Nortwest U.S.A.
    We have a 200 Deere with a home made dozer blade on it. The bosses had it built for all the stinking pipe we had to put in on a job 2 years ago. Worked great for cleaning up the road before a blade could get there.
    769.jpg

    772.jpg
     
  8. 9420pullpan

    9420pullpan Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Location:
    Central PA
    Xaxis 225 with a blade and variable angle boom

    ZX 225 USLC-3 P1050229.jpg

    ZX 225 USLC-3 P1050227.jpg

    ZX 225 USLC-3 P1050217.jpg

    Zaxis225uslc2.jpg

    Zaxis 225uslc.jpg
     
  9. EGS

    EGS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    Local 139 operator
    Location:
    Southern Wisconsin
    I think a blade would come in handy loading out asphalt and concrete.

    JTL what did that blade come off of?
     
  10. komatsuman1

    komatsuman1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    bc canada
    JTL
    Thats a good looking install. Any issues with it.
     
  11. TimHay

    TimHay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Occupation:
    Self employed
    Location:
    Onoway Alberta
    JTL
    that looks really good
    Did they run it off its own hydraulics or ty into the thumb with a electric solinod?
    Tim
     
  12. CM1995

    CM1995 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,231
    Occupation:
    Running what I brung and taking what I win
    Location:
    Alabama
    Not quite a 20 tonner but I thought it was interesting- (from Machinery Trader)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Iron Horse

    Iron Horse Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    ,
    That PAT blade on the CAT looks like it's off a D3 . That would be awesome . Ive been wanting to put one on mine , would I need a different slew joint as mine has no spare ports , only the track motor ports . Or is it possible to fit two in there somehow ? I got a heap of new spares with my machine including a spare slew/swivel joint .
     
  14. JTL

    JTL Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Occupation:
    IUOE Local 302
    Location:
    Pacific Nortwest U.S.A.
    Tim, EGS, komatsuman,
    I'll try to answer all your questions at once!
    The blade was plumbed with its own hydraulic circuit. We put a Sure Grip two button control on the left joystick. The right Sure Grip runs the Felco bucket, the thumb, or the newly installed swivel bucket. If you noticed there is a cable holding the thumb up so it doesn't bleed off while the lines are going to the plate bucket or swivel.

    The blade came off of an old #12 Cat blade that had been sitting in our bone yard for YEARS. Our wonderful fabricators did an awesome job of building the push arm assemblies and blade lift trunnions.

    The only problems I saw with it, was I was the first one to operate it after it was installed. They only put one lift cylinder dead center at first. After the first day of smoothing up some stump holes on a big clearing job we did, was substantial flex either side of the push arms. A talk with the main fabricator, and the owner of the company, it had cylinders mounted over each push arm before it left that job to go the one I took the pics of it seen here.

    I haven't been around this machine for over a year now, but I'm sure its holding up quite well. Haven't heard any horror stories!
     
  15. blueman

    blueman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    NC
    As far as I know the Volvo EC160 is the largest "conventional" excavator in the market to offer a factory backfill blade, most stop at the 12t class. It might be available on special application machines elsewhere - if Hitachi now offers it on a ZX200 that's something.
    You can get a blade on many shortswing machines and Bladerunners of course. All Volvo shortswings have a blade option - ECR145CL, ECR235CL, and even ECR305CL. The latter is about a 75,000lb machine and may be the biggest model of any sort to offer a factory blade.
     
  16. spitzair

    spitzair Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    Squamish BC (Home), Slave Lake, AB (Work)
    That's a slick looking setup you got there JTL! Did they have an extra circuit in the circle? Or did they have to install a different one? Just curious. Thanks for the pictures everybody!
     
  17. hitachinut

    hitachinut New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    salem oregon
    i kinda have an emergency can anyone help i just bought a hitachi zaxis 200 lc and i am draining all the fluids and doing general maintenance i am having trouble draining the fuel out of it and i think the fuel in it has water in it can someone tell me how to do this
     
  18. gasfield315c

    gasfield315c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    build gaswell locations in the steeper than a mule
    Location:
    pineville, wv
    i like that pic of the 315 with a 6 way blade on it, man i wish i could get ahold of something like that in my line of work, that would be the only way to go punching in roads and stuff like that
     
  19. special tool

    special tool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Bethel, Ct.
    Yeah, but you gotta watch.
    I have a blade on a 130 size machine.
    They just are not a dozer.
    The finals will open the reliefs if you try to push too much.
    Seems like an excavator with a blade will push about the same amount as a dozer of half it's weight.
    They're nice to level the machine on a hill and kick around the top 6 inches, but if you own the machine, I can tell you that you won't be trying to push too much.
    Then you always have to watch the hoe up there hitting phone lines or branches - just no substitute for a dozer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  20. gasfield315c

    gasfield315c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Occupation:
    build gaswell locations in the steeper than a mule
    Location:
    pineville, wv
    well i know you cant cut a road outta fresh ground with the blade, but i have used minis to build roads, and roughed it in with the bucket and just go back over it and grade it with the blade, thats what i was talking about doing with it, just on a bigger scale