1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

RobVG / problem with HEF

Discussion in 'Support' started by willie59, Jun 29, 2014.

  1. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    It seems RobVG is having difficulties with the forum, I have no clue what to tell him, any advice would be appreciated. Here's what he posted to me via PM at Facebook. >

    I still can't get into HEF. I'm having no problems with any other website. I can get to the homepage but can't log in or open any of the forums.

    Chrome can't open the pages. I tried Internet explorer but the same thing happens.

    I'm starting to think there's a problem on HEF's end but it's weird I'd be the only one. If you could check into this that'd be great. Absolutely no hurry though.
     
  2. 95zIV

    95zIV Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    795
    Occupation:
    RR Contractor Super.
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Willie,

    I can log in and view everything on both firefox and on Chrome, I've got no idea whats wrong but HEF's not giving any problems here.
     
  3. Deeretracks

    Deeretracks Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    568
    Occupation:
    Shop Foreman
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Same here. Firefox, Chrome, and IE are all working for me.
     
  4. CM1995

    CM1995 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,231
    Occupation:
    Running what I brung and taking what I win
    Location:
    Alabama
    No problems using Safari either. Rob may have a problem on his end.:beatsme
     
  5. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Oh, I'm having no problems myself, I just don't know what to tell him that would be causing the problem with his computer that's preventing him from logging in, way above my geek capacity. :beatsme
     
  6. lantraxco

    lantraxco Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,684
    Location:
    Elsewhen
    Sounds like a DNS problem, check with your internet provider?
     
  7. 95zIV

    95zIV Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    795
    Occupation:
    RR Contractor Super.
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Loose nut on the keyboard?
     
  8. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    LoL, most certainly with Rob. :D
     
  9. bill onthehill

    bill onthehill Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    pa/ny border
    Try going to a command prompt and type Flush dns. This will clear the dns registry and let it get a fresh address.
     
  10. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Whoa, wait, what? Would you care to put that in computer dummy language Bill? :D
     
  11. bill onthehill

    bill onthehill Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    pa/ny border
    Click the start button.
    in the box for programs and files type cmd.
    this takes you to a dos window.
    type Ipconfig/ flush DNS
    It clears out the pathways to sites on the net.
    you can type exit or just close the window.
    sometimes dns servers get changed and the paths get screwed up.
     
  12. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Thanks Bill, I'll pass this on to Rob. :cool:
     
  13. RobVG

    RobVG Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,024
    Occupation:
    17 excavators and a stewpot of other stuff
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    Thanks Bill, I'll give that a try tonight. Definitely my laptop because I have no problems at work or with my wife's computer. Weird how it's only HEF I'm having problems with.

    "Loose nut" :mad:
     
  14. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Hey, look...the loose nut is here! :drinkup
     
  15. RobVG

    RobVG Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,024
    Occupation:
    17 excavators and a stewpot of other stuff
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    successfully flushed the dns, restarted and- no luck.

    used ccleaner registry cleaner and that didn't help either.
     
  16. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Rob, I'm clueless, your problem is getting way above my computer geek capabilities.
     
  17. 95zIV

    95zIV Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    795
    Occupation:
    RR Contractor Super.
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Finally after all this time. :roll:lmao
     
  18. grandpa

    grandpa Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    northern minnesota
    Ummm,,,, could it be your flash player screwing up? I had that happen only on one site once. Downloaded a newer version and that fixed my problem... just trying to help ya Rob.
     
  19. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    LoL, I'm capable of a great number of things...including that! :D
     
  20. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Gramps, that's the one thing I have the most problem with, flash player crash or not responding. I've tried all kinds of stuff and still haven't sorted out that problem.