• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

RGN vs folding gooseneck buying used trailer for track hoe

terex herder

I need a trailer to haul my Deere 200D hoe. I have been looking at rgn trailers and have ran across a good looking Load King folding gooseneck. It is a hydraulic fold. I have no experience with folding gooseneck trailers (and not much with removable gooseneck).

What are the advantages and differences of a folding gooseneck vs. a removable gooseneck?

Junkyard

Occupation
Field Mechanic
RGN would be my first choice. The drawbacks to a folding neck are having to release from the 5th wheel each and every time you load/unload, unhook air and electric, lay that greasy plate down in dust and dirt. Then you pick it up and all that crap goes into the 5th wheel. Lots of climbing on/off the truck. They have their place loading certain kinds of equipment. Back in the day my first haul truck was a winch truck and a laydown trailer. Lots of work. When I finally got a hydraulic detach I wondered what in the world I had been doing farting around with that laydown. Hydraulic folding helps as mine was drug up with a winch. One thing that was handy with mine was I could laydown, back up to the rear of the trailer and run my winch line out to drag a dead machine on. If trailer slid it would only slide until it was dead tight to the tailboard of my truck.

A lot of repeated detaching with a folding neck will be hard on a 5th wheel. Trash throws off adjustment, occasionally gives a false latch which will get your attention!