• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Replacing Track Pins

mitch504

I went back and added a little more, I hit "post reply" when I meant to hit "space".
Don't worry, there is no doubt I am a better mechanic than typist. (Course, that doesn't prove I can do more than tell which end of the wrench goes where.) I hope to learn to type with 2 fingers soon.

Bluox

I doubt that there's anything odd about our pins, just our newbie ignorance on these matters! :) Pic's to follow when we are next able to get onsite and fix the tracks (a few weeks from now ).

Another related question: If they are not structurally essential, how concerned should we be about 'lose' pads? (the four bolts securing the pad to the link being loose). We seem to have a lot ..:-(.

JCB,
You are right about your loose pad,they are the main cause of broken pins.The bad news is this is a sign of worn out tracks.If you replace the bolts and clean out between the pads and rails you will get by for a time.
bob

JCB814

We need to get about 100hrs out of it, then the main job is over. So it is 'make do and mend' for the old girl for the moment. No doubt we are storing up troubles for the future, just need to give ourselves the best chance we can for the next 100hrs or so .. after that we can look at some serious overhauling :). So it's looking like we will replace all the pad bolts that need it. The distances traveled over the next 100hrs will be absolutely minimal. The whole undercarriage will be inspected now.