• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Rates and Pricing

Jayrod1

I'm new to this business and need some help with pricing my services. I am in south Mississippi and am wondering what the going rate is for a CTL running a mulching head? Also general bucket and landscaping work? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Bliz

Occupation
Excavator/Logger
Jayrod1, I am in the same boat. Just got a new Cat 289D CTL and am trying to figure out what to charge. Eventually, I will figure out my true cost to operate this machine, as we have done with all our other equipment. One word of advice I got years ago I still follow is, "don't follow the standard, set it." I am quite sure we will bill our Cat out at about $85.00/HR. We get $80.00/HR. for our Cat 305.5E excavator and have never heard a word about the price.

Shimmy1

Here in ND, a mini ex like a 304CCR or 305 gets $100/hr. We get $95/hr for our T770, it's same size as a 299 Cat. I can't give you any idea on the mulching head, I would probably charge enough so I could bank the purchase price in a year or two, plus whatever wear parts involved. This could depend on how much use it gets used, too.

KSSS

Occupation
excavation
I price my TR320 at $95.00 my 6 ton Takeuchi mini ex at $95.00 and my SV300 wheeled machine at $90. When I run the mulcher hourly which I try to avoid I run it at $175 an hour. Sounds like a lot but they don't run cheap.