• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Ramps or not?

urilabob

I'm new to earthwork, with a new-to-me ancient crawler tractor/dozer, trying to understand about loading ramps. Can anyone help with some questions? Are steel tracks safe on steel ramps, or will they just skid? If OK, do the ramps need to be wider than the tracks, so that the tracks run only on the rungs, or is it OK for the tracks to run on the ramp stringers (I'm guessing that running on the stringers will make skidding more likely, but maybe not)? Is there anything I could put on the ramps (conveyor belt, maybe, or boards) that would reduce skidding risk?

The ramps I'm looking at are 8' long, and I'd probably be loading up to about 2'6" height, so the slopes wouldn't be that fierce. I might have to load/unload in the wet sometimes, but snow/ice are rare enough here I could just wait till they melt.

Thanks in advance for any comments

redneckracin

Occupation
Civil Engineer
Steel on steel is very slick. The lower the angles and the more level the trailer (front to back and side to side) the better off things will be. Take things very slow and expect the worst. One quick movement and things can go south in a hurry.

colson04

I had steel tracks on a 743 bobcat for a couple years. It was very slick loading on steel ramps. If you weren't level side to side, you were sliding off to the low side every time. I took the tracks off the bobcat when I upgraded machines and then elected not to put them on the new machine because of how slippery it was to loan and unload.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

lantraxco