• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Questions regarding upgrading from a VOLVO EC18E to

Andres

Hello guys. I am quite new to the the forum and have been working lately with my excavator but think I would need a little bit stronger and longer arm.
What I have been fighting with is that at the moment I own a EC18E which is quite new and it has been great. I love how compact it is and I can tow it with my VW transporter. Then I said it would be great to get a rototilt and the engcon has a small one that would work ok.

Here is mine in action.

Untitled by andres petur, on Flickr

I have been thinking about upgrading to the EC20E as it has 30% more digging force and better hydraulics and very compact. Could work with a rotorilt like on the picture. What is a huge plus is that I dont have to get a bigger car as the Transporter is perfect for what I do. Can it handle a rototilt and could I rock a jus as big bucket as with the bigger machine?

by andres petur, on Flickr

The other thing is that the seller has been telling me the ECR25 is much better machine and its just as much as the EC20E
I will on the other hand have to get a new trailer and bigger truck.
I would like to hear your opinions.

funwithfuel

Occupation
Mechanic
As I was reading, I was thinking EC25 as well. You can equip the machine with quite a bit. Fitting with an articulated swivel is going to cost weight. So you may sacrifice digging strength for ditching capability. Not to mention the added wear on the boom swivel . The bigger question is where does most of your work lie? Where will you get the biggest bang for your buck?

Andres