• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Plowing hurts

hammerdwn20

Occupation
pipeline
I was plowing a new lot last week in a 580e case and was stopped abruptly. it was an asphalt lot so i had the cutting edge slightly down and was in 2nd at half throttle. scared the **** out of me. turns out a fence must have been there and a little concrete footing was sticking up about 3/4 of an inch. This was my first winter plowing and im a relatively new operator. after that i pulled the snow out in reverse where i thought more would be and im glad i did. (about6 more) My boss said he knocked himself out once with his foot on the throttle burning the tires down.

Whats your story?
Frank

Turbo21835

Been there, done that. Scraping ice with a JD 410D. Plowing warehouses that have concrete pads for trailer landing gears. Nothing like trucking along at the top end of 2nd and coming to a dead stop. As uncomfortable as they are, I always wear my seatbelt while plow in a machine, I dont want to kiss the windshield

Canadian_digger

I'm not sure what my father hit but once he sheered all but two of the bolts right off for the cutting edge on his 310SE:Banghead

digger242j

Administrator
Occupation
Self employed excavator
I did pretty much the same thing plowing a street in a new development we were working in, using a 680. Hit a water valve box that was maybe 1/2 inch above the rest of the pavement. It ended up a good 1 1/2 inches out of the pavement on one side, (until I sat on it with one of the stabilizers. ;)) It put a nice ding in the cutting edge too...

hammerdwn20

Occupation
pipeline