1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

pipe lasers lining up

Discussion in 'Lasers' started by bigcatpip, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. rshackleford

    rshackleford Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    North Dakota
    then you install a manhole!

    i have found, even with a blower, that pipe lasers do not give me acurate elevation. i trust it for side to side alignment but not for elevation. we use the LTU and line it all up then trust the laser for alignment.

    i shoot every pipe with an auto-level before it is covered.
     
  2. rabbit

    rabbit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Plumbing and Exavation Contractor
    Location:
    Washington
    Setting up Laser

    Gee thats the way we have always done it. Just because. Never considered it to be too much work. :usa;)
     
  3. dayexco

    dayexco Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    south dakota

    my 35+ yrs with pipe lasers, grade control once they started making self leveling units has NEVER been an issue if you have control of your air. if you don't trust your laser, i'd go back to 50 yr old technology using batterboards and a plumb bob.
     
  4. EGS

    EGS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    Local 139 operator
    Location:
    Southern Wisconsin
    That is how we always did it.:)
     
  5. Acivil

    Acivil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I have used a line level with success, but we have a different toy we use to accomplish the same task... We use dual axis self leveling/plumbing rotary lasers, we set the pipe laser in the invert, set the rotary laser w/ tripod on the cone on its side (main beam alligned vertically) pumb down to the pipe laser center, manually or remotely rotate the beam up to hit the next structure center then dig out a couple of sticks worth of trench and make the beams hit at the end of the trench. Its essentially the same process as the LTU, but can be done remotely for all the crew to verify, instead of only the person looking throught the instrument.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  6. rshackleford

    rshackleford Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    North Dakota
    brand and model please.
     
  7. Kgmz

    Kgmz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Occupation:
    General Contractor
    Location:
    Portland, OR & Eatonville, WA
    There are a lot of brands and models that can do this. Both of my CST Bergers are capable of this, ALGR and LM800. The laser will the normal mount on the bottom plus one on the side, and when you look for one it is generally called laydown mode. Then they will have a selectable rotation and spot mode and usually a remote control to adjust the beam.
     
  8. ditchbitch

    ditchbitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Southern Wisconsin
    yea here when there is a bend a manhole has to go in.
     
  9. Acivil

    Acivil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ours are Trimble Spectra Precision GL522 or 525 and yes they are manually or remote controlled, so you don't have to stay on the cone section looking down line. one person can allign both lasers at once from the side of the trench, or in the box or whatever crazy position one might have to get in. I prefer Topcon Greenbeam pipe lasers, and have been considering trying one of topcons new lasers with the laydown feature.
     
  10. Machine head

    Machine head Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    construction worker
    Location:
    Sth Australia
    how much time do you spend lining up your rotating laser? i get frustrated using remote controls on either pipe or rotating laser. they are the worse things to set. 2 person job saves alot of mucking around. my 2 cent
     
  11. S.R.E.

    S.R.E. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    Heavy Equipment Operator/Business Owner
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
    The fastest way is to take your time and set it up properly so you don't have to dig it up and re-lay it. :D
     
  12. Greg in KY

    Greg in KY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Kentucky
    manual slope calculation question

    I have a Rotary CTS Berger ALH. It has Y axis slope only- not a fixed laser and it does not have the % setting that can be set on the laser. It is not dual axis and cannot be laid on its side.
    How is the best way to set the slope to lay drain tile?

    I assume:
    measure out 100' , find level, then drop the laser to the measurement you want to match the % slope desired.

    Is there a better way?

    Thanks, Greg
     
  13. dayexco

    dayexco Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    south dakota
    man, you people waste waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much time with this...i've dealt with sewer lasers since the early 70's..i'd have 60' of pipe in the ground before you guys even get set up
     
  14. handtpipeline

    handtpipeline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    Utility Contractor
    Location:
    Sperry, OK
    I have a number of ways I line the pipe laser up. A lot of it depends on where I'm working (how critical being exact is, depending on city or inspector) and/or if I'm having to tie into an existing manhole. I've got a job going on right now, where we're replacing an 8" clay tile line with 10" ductile. I'm replacing all the existing manholes in between, instead of re-habbing them, so hitting them dead center isn't that critical. But the one where we are ending was. I have a Topcon AG-30 Theodolite surveyor transit that I use most of the time to line up. It just takes me a couple of minutes to set it up, and it's dead on accurate. I've also stretched a stringline, and hung a plumbob off of it, or even just eyeballed down a straightedge such as a level. Something I always do, that I know a lot of guys don't, is shoot my grades either with the transit, or rotary laser, and check to see if the percentage is right. We ran the percentage the engineer gave us on this job to the next to last manhole, then had to change the percentage on the last run, because we were going to hit the manhole .8' BELOW the manhole. I told the surveyor that when we started, and he supposedly checked it, and said they were right... Well, turns out I was right, so we had to change it. Which didn't surprise me much, since their centerline stakes were off too. We would have hit the existing manhole 1' south of center if we had used their stake. Have I mentioned I don't get along too well with most engineers or surveyors??? They tend not to like you much after you prove them wrong...
     
  15. handtpipeline

    handtpipeline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    Utility Contractor
    Location:
    Sperry, OK
    Here's a shot or two of my setup. It's pretty simple and straightforward, and very accurate.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. rasit

    rasit New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania
    Plomb stringline tied on the laser has to be the fastest. The only constraint is waiting on the machine to get the first cut opened.