• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Not much info here on JCB/Volvo machines

materthegreater

I am considering buying a used compact track loader so I've been doing a lot of reading here about them. Seems like most of the threads are about CAT, Kubota, Bobcat, Takeuchi, followed by Deere and ASV, with very little about Case, New Holland, JCB, Volvo etc. I know there are a lot more of the major brand machines out there which is probably why.

Anyway, I've found a few JCB and Volvo machines that seem to be in good shape and not overpriced. Does anyone have firsthand experience with these? I'm a small contractor and probably wouldn't put more than 500 hours a year on whatever I buy.

Thanks for any info and opinions!

efnfast

I own a Volvo excavator. Volvo no longer supports it, parts are almost impossible to find. I've been told anything over 20 years old, Volvo no longer support, no parts, no info, nothing.
My 60,000 pound excavator might be headed to the scrap yard.
I own a Cat grader, 1964. I needed a part, went to Cat, the parts guy went out back and got it for me.

skata

The side door is very nice, especially if you're running attachments. See if you can demo one.

KSSS

Occupation
excavation
The side door has some definite pluses. Easy makes it the safest SSL/CTL on the market for that simple reason. That said JCB has been working on this since 90's I believe. While they make a good backhoe, and telehandler (many of the Dairy guys out here run the telehandlers), they have continued to try and refine this one arm concept and the machine itself. I am not sure that they have yet figured it out.