• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New to me dozer/operation

One guy construction

Occupation
Owner/Welder, Hobby Land management
Hello all, I got a 2007 D6N with 3400 hours on it, 2500 were ideleing, machine is like new. I will be using it at my cabin to clear land and improve/make roads. Any advice on what not to do/rookie mistakes? I have been using my 259D and my 314C on my projects so far, but my projects have been growing larger and larger. I got the machine right and figured it should last a lifetime at my place with proper use/care. These are only hobbie past times for me so i am no professional or plan to be. For me these are diesel therapy LOL. Current project right now is 6 acre i just had clear cut. Using excavator to rip out stumps and moving debris with 259 and grapple bucket. I was still planning on using 314 to remove stumps and the d6 to push piles and level field. D6 does have winch and forestry package on it. Hope to have machine delivered next week. any advice is much appreciated.

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
I guess the first question is do you have an Operation & Maintenance Manual, or will one come with the machine..? There is a pocket in the back of the seat where it's supposed to live but there is no guarantee one will actually be there.
If you don't have a manual it contains a lot of useful information and can be downloaded online for about $45.

One guy construction

Occupation