1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

new ride

Discussion in 'Cranes' started by Tradesman, Apr 28, 2013.

  1. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Location:
    sw missouri
    Looks like nice balmy weather you're having. Have to have chains to get up the driveway to the house on the hill? We've had a good layer of ice here the last couple days and haven't gone anywhere. The truss is about like when they skip around setting trusses, and you get to walk one between two other set trusses. Only on that one you can take siding off the neighbor's house.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  2. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    No chains just good tires and 45 years of driving on snow and ice. The only thing I’ve ever had chains on was a two wheel drive loader tractor that I used to clean the barn out with. I have to confess this trip had me sweating a bit. The township had ice bladed the road, so it wasn’t a problem, as it turned out the biggest trouble I had was caused by the contractors efforts to make things good for me, he put a lot of salt down and it softened the snow on the driveway enough that I started to chop a bit in the slushy snow.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  3. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    Truck inspection-check
    Crane inspection- check
    New rope - check
    New winch hydraulic hoses - check
    1685964D-2D70-490F-B26B-D7D99BD84D74.jpeg
     
    John C. and DMiller like this.
  4. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    I shouldn’t be given any time to sit and think, I decided that it would be nice to have an oil dispenser, so after a couple of phone calls and a bunch of $$ this showed up. My supplier would have put it in for free, but then I pay a premium on the oil. By owning it myself I’m free to purchase the bulk oil from whom ever I wish. I like the ability to put the oil directly into the machine rather the pouring it from pail into a oil can then into the machine. Not counting the spilled oil while transferring from pail to can, I’m thinking a couple years to pay for it, but mostly it’s just nice to have.
    15E4A98E-DD7F-495A-A4AB-201A8EDCFEF8.jpeg
     
    CM1995, dirty4fun, Tinkerer and 3 others like this.
  5. Natman

    Natman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    ID
    What oil? Engine, hydraulic??
    I too have noticed the winch lines get sun damaged due to their location, good move.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  6. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10,514
    Occupation:
    Almost Retired
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    Appears Rotella Engine Oil
     
    hosspuller likes this.
  7. Natman

    Natman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    ID
    NOW I see the big label on the side of the tank!

    I'm currently at 650 hours between oil changes with my 425 hp Mack, 56 qts capacity. This is based on Blackstone Labs reports, and they cautiously suggest I could go a bit higher, but I'm good with that, especially as I was changing it at 350 hours. I've used this increase in change intervals as an excuse to get lazy, and just take it in to get a full service at my local Kenworth dealer. The weird thing is, based on dipstick readings, the Mack doesn't seem to use any oil....at least not enough to have to add any at all between changes.
     
    dirty4fun and DMiller like this.
  8. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Location:
    sw missouri
    Kind of shorted you of cable didn't they. I like a full drum if I'm buying new, but its always a little tough to guess what it takes to get a full drum.
     
    dirty4fun and DMiller like this.
  9. dirty4fun

    dirty4fun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    N. IL
    Do you ever pull all the cable off and reverse the ends? We used to do that on the dragline cranes, as the would wear in one place.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  10. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    I bought the rope from Manitex and the part no. is 35714-335
    35x7 rotation resistant rope, 14 mm. and 335 ft. I started shopping for one but in the end my dealers price was good and I have the added benefit of using a rope supplied by the factory shop.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  11. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Location:
    sw missouri
    The main wear is always where it jumps to the next wrap. I've never reversed one, that would be a huge pain to try to lay it all out, or you would have to spool to spool it, and then back on the drum. You can get the same effect- i.e. changing where the cable wraps over, by just putting it on a spool, cutting 8' of cable on the swedge end at the drum, and then spooling it back on. Then you don't wrap it backwards.

    So is it actually 14mm, or is it just 9/16 cable? 14mm and 9/16 are pretty close, and I'm just curious.

    Liebherr uses a stupid 17mm on my 100 ton and why they didn't just use 3/4" and make it easy I'll never know. Its hard to source cable, and forget getting creative with a alternative block or becket.
     
    dirty4fun and DMiller like this.
  12. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    I haven't done it but I've thought about it. Because it is spooled the reverse of the way its spent its life have you had any trouble getting it to lay properly? I even read somewhere that you should spool it off the original reel onto a second reel, then install it, to keep it laying the way it was originally spooled, when I asked the head mechanic at the dealership he said there was no need. In the case of this rope I had to cut and shorten it twice and I think the last time I cut it I wonder if got the seizing wire tight enough because it appeared that the core slipped because I had a bit of a spiral happening in the first 15 ft. of the rope. so upon discovering that I immediately cut out the effected rope " taking great care to seize properly" and ordered a new rope. My feeling is the consequences are far too great to take a chance on a three year old rope that has shown any issues.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2021
    dirty4fun and DMiller like this.
  13. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    I've seen Manitex call it both but when I ordered it the part no. came up as 14mm. and it didn't seem a problem, they had it in there parts room in two days. when I was pricing from my rigging supplier he could have two different ropes in the same time frame and a German made one in 10 days. The German made one was $600 more than the other two. It was about then I decided to use the factory supplied rope. There was also a chinesium rope for half the price, thanks but no thanks.
     
    dirty4fun and DMiller like this.
  14. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    Cummins recommends 500 hours I usually change oil and filters at about 250 hours. If I was running 50 hours a week I'd maybe feel differently, but although some weeks I bill out that much, if I have a lot of minimum charges but I've never ran even close to that so 250 hour service intervals aren't a very big impact to my bottom line and it makes me feel good.
    I'm a lot of things but any kind of a mechanic other than a poor one " I'm not. But I remember being told one time that all engines burn some oil and if your dip stick does not change level its because of a small amount of impurities entering the oil making up the difference in the the oil used.
     
    dirty4fun and DMiller like this.
  15. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    yep rotella t 15-40 I have a really good shell dealer 6 KM. from me that I get excellent service from I have a metered clear fuel tank with a level sensor that they monitor remotely, a dyed tank and I buy most of my gasoline at their fuel station. So I really never consider anything else.
     
    DMiller and dirty4fun like this.
  16. Natman

    Natman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    ID
    I'd never go that long on my own, and didn't, until Blackstone showed me the numbers, and if anything is entering the oil it doesn't show on the tests. I do about two changes a year. I'm sure I use some oil, but the dipstick shows it's still in the safe range by the time the next change is due. Try an oil analysis, you may be able to safely extend and STILL get that warm fuzzy feeling of treating your money maker right, and I am 100% for that, I call it mechanical karma.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  17. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    You could add rural Canada to the mid west column. Toronto is is a different story they have a habit of calling in the army if they get a heavy dusting of snow.
    “ f,ing embarrassing “.
    49F75D55-4773-4BB5-9C3C-923AE9C7F616.jpeg
     
  18. CM1995

    CM1995 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,072
    Occupation:
    Running what I brung and taking what I win
    Location:
    Alabama
    I'm going to have to make correction to your southern column Sir. Our liquor stores are emptied before the "Mild panic and sense of doom" sets in.o_O

    :D
     
    HATCHEQUIP and DMiller like this.
  19. petepilot

    petepilot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1,722
    Location:
    central shenandoah valley va,
    :)
     
    HATCHEQUIP, CM1995 and DMiller like this.
  20. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    I stand corrected.:D
     
    DMiller and CM1995 like this.