• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New gig need some input

Dozerboy

Occupation
Operator
Well I got a new job 4 weeks ago after being laid off. I'm mainly a operator, but they want me to be there LB driver too. Its a small outfit so I won't be driving much I hope. I have had my Class a for 8 years, but haven't used it much. I hopped on dump trucks and had a flat deck trailer that I hauled a some smaller iron on everyday for hourly work I was doing. Driving isn't a issue, but could use any tips ya'll have on courtesy types of things drivers do. I am really looking for other info/tips like chaining down rubber tire stuff mainly ADTs. They currently have only 2 turnbuckles and for the rest I use binders which I'm not happy about. Where can I fine DOT regs online? The truck in a Freightliner that is to small for the 50ton Fontain trailer. I nervous since I don't have much training and there current Formen/Driver likes to cut corners. So I don't have any good resources to learn from. If some of this stuff has been covered before you can link it for me. I tried a quick search without much luck.

I hauled a 61 dozer for them and have always seen the blade angled on smaller 6ways, but was told to leave it straight. Is that right?

With the 61 on there I had hardly no traction on lose ground with the steer axle. The 5th wheel plate looks to be all the way back. Shouldn't I move it forward at least center it over the drives? With the truck being to small I wouldn't want to overload the steer. Suggestions?

I hate the truck it has a 10speed its shift pattern is like
R 3/4 7/8