• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New Cat 977K owner with questions

MT Rancher

Occupation
Rancher
Just picked up Cat 977K (S# 46K608) from gsa auction in Yellowstone National Park. Greased and checked levels then did a little work around corrals at ranch. Appears to be nicely maintained and everything worked as it should. I am new to this tracked loader and was impressed with its size and power.

However, it is missing the thick counter weight in the back. I asked the YNP maintenance manager about it and he said it never had it since they acquired it from another govt agency years ago. I had heaping bucket loads of dirt and didn’t notice tipping tendency but I am sure it is on there normally for good reason. I am ultimately interested in having a ripper on back as I think that would be best for my ranch use. I assume ripper mounts directly to machine without counter weight.

How much does that counter weight weigh? Does it have inner section that mounts to machines studs and and outer section that then mounts to it? Looking at pictures of 977k’s with counter weights look like I see 4 studs with nuts in a horizontal line about midway up weight (my machine has large studs running up and down vertically on each side so doesn’t appear to match - see pic).