• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New and soon to be Jobless

Tick

Hello everyone
I am currently in to manufacturing for 25 years and soon too be unemployed , our company will be moving to Mexico..... I am 45 and a hard worker ........ and I am from the Toronto area....

I have always wanted to get into the heavy equipment side of construction. .. I have no experience but willing to learn ..... what is the best thing to do to break into the business?
Should I find a good school ? There are lots of Private schools around and Collages what is the best?

I have been talking to the Union and some schools and they are telling me too talk to the employer and find out what they want , do they want someone who went to school and got some hours in the seat or do they want to train someone themselves.

These are the questions I am asking you guys with the jobs and the experience !!

What would be your advice ?????

Thanks
:drinkup
TC

stock

Occupation
We have moved on and now were lost....
Welcome to our little international community; sorry I can't be of much help on the school thing as I am on the other side of the pond.Have a chat with some local civils companies see what they want, might be no need to spend a lot of cash unnecessarily .Best of luck to you in your new career.

Tick

Thanks

I thought I would get a bigger response from this forum on this subject ?

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
Welcome to the forum Tick. :usa