• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

need your opinion

hammerdwn20

Occupation
pipeline
Im 23 and Ive been working for my current company for 18 months now. I think ive proved im worth more than when i started. I know i should just be happy to be working but between my bills and helping my parents out with theirs (father has been out of work for almost a year) it leaves little left.
I run equipment, Class A cdl, and repair and service the machines. (i went to school to be a mechanic and was one for 2 1/2 years.) i do whatever else i have to from welding and torching to woodworking and sheetrock.
I did get health insurance after 6 months so i have to factor that in. I get paid hourly but only for 8 hours even if im there longer. No vacation, holiday or lunch pay. I come in early everyday and if i know what we are doing i get everything together. Ive come in on sundays and got a machine ready for monday because i knew we needed it. didnt even get a thank you.
company is small. Son, his father, me and finally a laborer(i guess thats what you would call him but he isnt much of anything) again. For a while it was just the three of us and even when they are there im working alone.
My question is what would i be worth to your company you? MAybe what i make and go through is normal.

Last edited:

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
What you are worth is a subjective question that can't be answered truthfully by someone who doesn't know you or your work.