1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Need to pull Sprocket Hub off of old Dozer

Discussion in 'Dozers' started by chriskarnaze, Aug 17, 2021.

  1. chriskarnaze

    chriskarnaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I have a Komatsu D155 A-1 Dozer (serial 10508). I need to replace one of the sprocket Hubs. I haven't been able to locate anyone yet who has a hydraulic puller capable of doing the job. I've contacted Komatus dealers. If I don't locate anyone, I'm thinking that I could cut the old one off with a plazma cutter, or at least cut it enough to weaken it. I could also try attaching 3 separate 10K pound load binders to each of the 3 holes around he circumference and pray. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Dave Neubert

    Dave Neubert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    Monroe NC
    I recently pulled on off of a D65 and it took 90 tons to pop it I used a cat press and made the adapters you also will need to press the sprocket back on you can not get it tight enough by hand it will come loose
     
    DMiller likes this.
  3. epirbalex

    epirbalex Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    311
    Occupation:
    peasant
    Location:
    Akitio
    Getting it off is only half way there , bit of a risk with the 320 hp to do up the retaining nut tight enough to hold the sprocket without a press . I've done that with a D47U , needed ten stone at six feet of bar , held to . Have the sprocket segment bolt holes flogged out ?
     
    nicky 68a likes this.
  4. chriskarnaze

    chriskarnaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It sounds like I should abandon any option but using a puller/press. I may have found someone who can do it after making an adapter. Although not related to the presss, the bolt holes holding the sprocket segments on the old hub are oval shaped.
     
    nicky 68a likes this.
  5. nicky 68a

    nicky 68a Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    814
    Location:
    england
    I agree.
    You need to pull it off with a press,and press it back on with a press.
    Nothing else will do.
    You’ve figured it out yourself
     
    doublewide and tctractors like this.
  6. Puffie40

    Puffie40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Southeastern B.C.
    You could try welding the holes up and re-drilling them. After the bolts are properly torqued down, they shouldn't wear out.
     
  7. chriskarnaze

    chriskarnaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    The reason I am changing the sprocket hub is because the existing hub got bent. The oval bolt holes are a secondary issue and existed before the hub got bent. I tried to unbend by heating with a rosebud oxy-acetylene torch and janking with my tractor, but it would not bend. The hub must be cast steel and maybe cast steel doesn't bend.
     
  8. 56wrench

    56wrench Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,065
    Location:
    alberta
    Well, it bent in the first place. Its heavy enough that it would have to be removed to be straightened in a press so its likely better to get another one in good condition
     
  9. chriskarnaze

    chriskarnaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I have a new one. The issue is getting the old one off and the new one on. The tooling to do this is very hard to find.
     
  10. Puffie40

    Puffie40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Southeastern B.C.
    It's a D9-sized bulldozer. You might have to look at large contractors and the mining sector for that equipment.
     
  11. 1466IH

    1466IH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    prairie du rocher, il
    I know the older kommies were cat clones and I have pulled those off complete in the past and then used a big shop press to change sprockets. Not the correct way to go about it and definitely makes extra work out of it
     
  12. tctractors

    tctractors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Worc U.K.
    I do have the tooling for the job but a bit to distant for a days work, but if you are struggling to sort the right push pull threaded adapter you can get a used hub nut and weld it to a fabricated sleeve that looks very similar to the tooling used on a D8H/K, you will need a 105 ton cylinder and pump, there is a few ways you can pull off the rim and anybody who knows their job would be able to come up with a safe and effective method, the bearings are 2 path roller jobs so you cannot put them under any press tonnage, in the U.K. the 155 f/drive work has been none for me for 15 or 20 years, the job of dread was swapping a dead shaft as this used to be some nasty task, but I stuck at it and sort of perfected the removal making the task fairly easy but the 155's seemed to vanish, the task needs stripping and re-building on the tractor as its the safest and best way. tctractors
     
    doublewide, nicky 68a and Shimmy1 like this.
  13. Master Link

    Master Link Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Occupation:
    Heavy Equipment repair
    Location:
    Dallas
    What tctractors says is good advice. You will need a set up that looks like this. Maybe see if you can find a large independent shop in your area that has been in business a long time they used to work on the bigger Cat dozers.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. chriskarnaze

    chriskarnaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Thanks. I located a guy who says he can pull and press if I fabricate the appropriate adapter. But he is very busy, and I don't know if he will ever have time. I am considering building a tool to do the pull with 3 separate 50 ton bottle jacks (~ $150 each). Anyting larger than 50 tons costs way too much. But I wonder if they really can do 50 tons. The manual says the pressing force is between 62 and 107 tons. If I am lucky and it only takes 62 tons to remove it, then 62 tons at the center may equal 50 tons where it is actually being pulled on the perimeter, and where the bottle jacks would go. I plan to either order a sprocket nut and weld on to it or bolt something to the existing sprocket nut. But if someone had the tooling and were available, it would be much simpler to just make an adapter. I am also wondering if 2 bottle jacks can be stacked to increase the capacity, but that would probably just break things.
     
  15. Master Link

    Master Link Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Occupation:
    Heavy Equipment repair
    Location:
    Dallas
    Before you pull the sprocket measure the depth of the sprocket on the splined hub. You will need to press it back on that deep. Since you are pulling the sprocket you may consider putting new seal groups in. Inspect your old ones and see how worn they are.
     
  16. epirbalex

    epirbalex Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    311
    Occupation:
    peasant
    Location:
    Akitio
    Tried that with a big one to pull a D4 sprocket . In the end had a guy pull it with a single ram and a hand operated power pack .
    https://www.trademe.co.nz/a/marketp.../hoists-jacks/listing/3224190085?bof=t5nCDl7K
    Looked like this , very heavy . He had a gauge on the power pac pump . No reason why a ram could not be coupled to fittings to work both ways , not matter what it all has to be thread mounted like TC says in post 12 . Rather than use a Komatsu nut have a wider stronger one made , either way its going to cost . What bent the sprocket in the first place ? There could be damage to the dead shaft , housing's , bearings . There are alignment tolerances for the shaft .
     
    nicky 68a likes this.
  17. chriskarnaze

    chriskarnaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Epirbalex, the roller near the hub broke, and I think some of its metal got caught between the track and the hub. The hub is bent toward the dozer body about 3/4 inch on 1/3 of its outer circumference. I'll check the axle, if I ever get the sprocket off. The link you sent has it listed for $1100 in New Zealand. I see the same one listed in the US for around $300, which I find hard to believe, since other 100T hydraulic cylinders cost well over $2K.
     
  18. Jonas302

    Jonas302 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    950
    Location:
    mn
  19. chriskarnaze

    chriskarnaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Those are good prices. I'm thinking maybe I should move up to a 150 ton cylinder. Bigger is usually better.
     
  20. 1466IH

    1466IH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    prairie du rocher, il
    Where are you located? I forgot there is a guy near me with some of the Cat tooling