• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Need to find a used/reman cylinder for Cat 426

edgephoto

So I got a killer deal on a Cat 426. I am new to these big boy toys and I am struggling trying to find places to find a used or reman. cylinder.

Anyplace you can suggest to call, email or link to I would be appreciated.

My boom would drop almost immediately and I planned to repack all the cylinders since the seals are all dried and cracked. Well I found the issue with my boom dropping. There was a very sligh dent in the cylinder and so the piston and cylinder are damaged beyond repair. I hit a local shop and he said that he can make me a new cylinder but it would be more than $1200. I am looking to find a good used one. I am find if the rod is pitted as mine is nice.

IMG_6415.JPG IMG_6426.JPG

Ct Farmer

For rebuild repair try these

Devine hydraulics in Montville. Many locals like them and they make parts in house.

New Hampshire Hydraulics. Big shop that does a lot of work for several major local dealers and construction firms. Good reputation and they will pickup the cylinder.

Fluid Power in Lancaster, NY. Very good work and they do it all in house. Had them rechrome and rebuild the bucket cylinder on my Volvo. Amazing work and detail. Very reasonable price on that big of cylinder.

Be careful, there are several firms in the area that call themselves rebuilders and do little more than chuck a cheap China seal kit in.

edgephoto

Thanks for the replies. Being new to this world I am lacking contacts and go to places.