1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

need help with a genie gs-1930 scissor lift

Discussion in 'Other Compact Equipment' started by choproxy, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. choproxy

    choproxy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    ok
    Lift has good charged batteries
    There are no diagnostic codes or nor are the two led bars viewable in the diagnostics window
    There is a red error light on the console and the green led light for forward reverse operation is lit
    But that is it, no movement no other leds, nothing operates or changes the leds. Except both safety shut offs and the key will turn the two leds off

    The main fuse is good, the 7a circuit breaker is not tripped. There is 25v at the B+ of the motor controller

    It was working a couple of weeks ago. HELP

    There
     
  2. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,850
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Welcome to HEF choproxy. :drinkup

    I don't know what your problem is as I've never seen this before, but I have to ask if the result is the same if you select operation from both ground and platform controls? To not see the two LED bars in the ECU code window (LED bars indicate all is well), and likewise to not see any fault codes in the ECU code window, curious indeed.
     
  3. choproxy

    choproxy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    ok
    Yes you are right the ECU isn't getting the 24v. But there is 24v past the 7a circuit breaker and at the motor controller
    And it doesn't work on ground control either.
     
  4. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,850
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Well, it's time to do some electrical testing. Power leaves 7 amp breaker and goes to the E stop at lower controls, through E stop to ground/platform select switch. Red wire leaves select switch (in either grd or platform position) and sends power to platform control E stop. With platform E stop pulled out (on) it sends power out, down the cable to the lower and sends power to both CR48 power relay and pin A4 at ECU connector. This is one of the circuits I would check. Also check all the ground (earth) connections and check closely the power cable that runs along the scissor frame from upper to lower, look for places the cable has been snagged, and the stretchy cord that goes from platform to platform control box can be problematic, I've replaced a number of them, just gotta start testing the circuits because it sounds like either the ECU isn't getting power or the ECU is faulty.
     
  5. choproxy

    choproxy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    ok
    Thanks for the reply sorry for the delay, im back on it now
    Where are you finding your schematic, the one I download doesn't mention CR48 power relay and it shows the ECm connection A4 coming from the emergency stop from the joystick

    Although the diagnostic led is unlit (no bars) I know im getting power past the key switch becuase turning the key off and on turns the emrgency fualt LEd off and on.

    Im sure I have the wrong schematic , the frame has 54363 stamped on the right front above the drive motor. I think it is a 2004 model
     
  6. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,850
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Ok, serial #54363, I was using the wrong diagram myself. Download service manual #72876 from the Genie website. The electrical diagrams are near the end of the manual, scroll through the diagrams to the one that covers s/n 54000 - 59999.

    That diagram has some goofy looking master key switch that doesn't even show the connections inside of it. Best I can interpret the key switch shown, B and B1 is power from battery, 3 is lower controls selected, 1 is upper controls selected, 2 and 4 has power when either (lower or upper) control is selected, but I'm certainly not sure about that, you would have to confirm.



    Genie GS1930 key switch.png



    But if I'm reading it correctly, it still shows power going to the upper E stop on wire 76F, then 78F, through E stop, then back to ground on wire 77F to power up CR48 control relay as well as send power signal to A4 on ECM.
     
  7. choproxy

    choproxy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    ok
    Thanks I now have the correct schematic this is much better
    Looking at it my conclusion is CR48 has a bad cable, ground connection or the relay is bad
    24v is going to the platform emergency switch (i press is and the trouble red led goes off and on). Next stop is CR48
    But im not hearing a relay click
    Is CR48 the relay in the contoel box with the ECM module in the battery compartment?
     
  8. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,850
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Not sure where CR48 is located as I don't have access to a GS scissor. But I can say this, the terminals on the diagram for that relay are noted as 85, 86, 30, and 87. That describes a typical Bosch "cube" relay.



    Bosch cube relay.gif
     
  9. choproxy

    choproxy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    ok
    Found the little devil it is in the ecm compartment
    Has a good ground but no 24v on the other side. Jump it to battery plus, relay clicks. ECM led bars light up with no errors
    Now I can select forward/reverse or up/down on the platform controls. But I still have an error light and no movment
    I think the switch has gone bad. It sends 24v to the relay but also 24v to A11 of the ecm
    So now ECM is getting power but not the key switch input, hence the error led and no movment
    It is dark and the lift is outside. Will take the keyswitch box apart in the morning and investigate. I think you have got me going in the right direction. Will post results in the morning
    Thanks again for the help. The right schematic did the trick
     
  10. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11,850
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    I hope you get it sorted out. :)
     
  11. AirBornOne

    AirBornOne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    S.F.Bay Area
    choproxy,
    Sorry I didn't respond sooner-maybe you have things sorted by now.
    Our little 3000# GS at work does that once in awhile-IIRC its the level sensor(s).
    In our case we we're in some slight depressions,dips in the floor that prevented the *sensor bars from sitting level.(I know there's a better name for these.They mount @ the bottom frame between the wheels,for'n aft,and are suspended by a spring/pin pair at each end.Ans somewhere is a switch or two.)
    Make sure your Genie is level and/or clear of debris.Otherwise the one of these safety switches would be worth looking at.
    HTH
    J
     
  12. choproxy

    choproxy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    ok
    I did sort it out and I appreciate all the help
    The problem was a bad connection from the 24v coming from the emergency shut off at the platform console down to relay cr48.
    That relay provides 24v dc to the ecm. The relay is inside the ECm compartment
    I temporarily hot wired directly from battery plus to the relay. ECM is on and everything works
    The coiled cable that connects from the platform console to the wire loom that feed down the scissor mechanism looks awful, cracked and perished. I will replace that first. If that doesn't fix it then i will replace the loom on the scissor mechanism.
    Thanks again for all the help. The key was identifying the correct wiring diagram (thanks Wille59). I realizing my lift has relay cr48
     
  13. mecnx

    mecnx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    taylors south carolina
    looking for some diagnostic help on a genie scissor lift with a LL code . Level sensor seems to be ok . Bubble is in the center position . All wiring appears to be plugged in and making contact . Lift goes up a few feet then the alarm goes off and stop moving. Looking for a direction.
     
  14. papabear8910

    papabear8910 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    rancho cucamonga
    hello everybody i am having a problem with code ll but my lift doesn't move at all and the botton for the lift to go up is blinking in sciquence with the code ll any help out their please
     
  15. Moonlite

    Moonlite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    Texas
    If you mean code 02. Check the harness coming out of the upper control box. Broke wire is common.

    Just making sure. This is also a genie lift?
     
  16. papabear8910

    papabear8910 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    rancho cucamonga
    no it is giving me the letter LL on the code screen and yes it is a genie 1930 gs
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2016
  17. Moonlite

    Moonlite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    Texas
    LL is out out level
     
  18. papabear8910

    papabear8910 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    rancho cucamonga
    But i have it at the shop on a level serfice does that mean the level sensor is bad
     
  19. Moonlite

    Moonlite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    Texas
    Not necessarily. Can you get the lift to raise enough to see the level sensor? Make sure something didn't get jammed under it. See if wire is broke. What is the serial number to your machine?
     
  20. papabear8910

    papabear8910 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    rancho cucamonga
    Yeah i raised it nothing is abstruting it or the wires are not cut either and the serial number is scrached away