• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Moving Dead John Deere 790 Excavator

Jon Bradtke

Hello all,

Please excuse my inexperience as I am new to the heavy equipment area. We found a great deal on a John deere 790 excavator. Engine runs great and the excavator appears to be in great shape. This excavator has two main hydraulic pumps (3,770 psi each 63.4 gpm) and a small pilot pump. One of the hydraulic pumps is dead and I need to get this thing loaded on a lowboy and transported 30 miles to our shop. I don't have access to another excavator or heavy equipment to move it. How can I get this thing moving? My first thoughts were to either plumb in a tractor PTO hydraulic pump (approx 2,500 psi) or to try and run the entire excavator off of one main pump. Please help as we really want to get this excavator moved on a lowboy and to our farm for some much needed work!!!

Any help would be great!!

-Jon

old-iron-habit

Occupation
Retired Cons't. Supt./Hospitals
I have heard of hooking external hydraulic source directly to the track drive motors and walking them that way. Might be an option if other functions work. You may also be able to tie into the other pump with tee's and valves and run the tracks off the other pump and control. Why not change the pump where it is now before you move it?

Tones

Occupation
Ex land clearing contractor, part-time retired
I firmly suggest you change the pump before you do any further damage. It's very likely it will have debris in the hydraulic system now and running it will only make a big bill huge. The other option is to run away from it, fast.

Jon Bradtke