• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Most popular CAT tools

Shivan Dookeran

while im not new to the electrical side of cat im new to the mechanical side , what are the most popular tools and do i need original cat tools or you guys have used others sucessfully , im talking about guages and test equipment .

all info and help is appreciated

Welder Dave

So was I. I'm sure Cat has a zillion specialty tools including gauges. I highly doubt you need all of them to be from Cat. It's kind of like Snap On tools. They are generally top of the line but that doesn't mean less expensive or other brands won't do the same thing.

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
A gauge is a gauge no matter what name is on the face or the invoice. The quick coupler fittings are carried for a whole lot less money at any hydraulic supply house. I have never bought any hydraulic test stuff from a Cat dealer.

JD955SC

All my hydraulic gauges are Cat but that’s because we get a decent price on them, they are reliable and accurate, and my work rebuilds them when needed.

you just need good gauges and the adapter fittings. Neither has to be Cat, but you aren’t going wrong by buying Cat, at least on the analog type gauges (the electronic digital gauge set they have is not worth the steep price to me)

aongheas.macask

Occupation
ex service manager
A gauge is a gauge no matter what name is on the face or the invoice. The quick coupler fittings are carried for a whole lot less money at any hydraulic supply house. I have never bought any hydraulic test stuff from a Cat dealer.