• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Mixing gyp-dirt

handtpipeline

Occupation
Utility Contractor
Ok, my background is in pipeline/utility line work. Over the years, we have also moved a fair amount of dirt. Built ponds, put in roads for sub divisions, house and building pads, etc...

Right now, we are working on a dam for a city resevoir (lake, I know I didn't spell that right...) Anyway, they did away with the earthen spillways on each end of the dam, we cut down about 350' long area in the middle of the dam, and they lined it with Roller Compacted Concrete. Now, we are filling on both ends of the dam, building the slopes and such. The basic fill work is not a problem for us, just loading out of a stockpile, moving, spreading, discing, watering and compacting... No big deal..