• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Mechanics: Large company VS small company

92U 3406

Occupation
Wrench Bender
Just wondering what everyone's experience is with wrenching for large dealerships vs small construction/trucking companies?

I've been at this professionally for 9 years now and spent most of it with large dealers. I'm honestly at my wits end with all the politics/corporate BS/lack of being treated like a person vs a number. I'm about ready to cut it loose from the current company I'm with. I've never worked for a small company before and was wondering, in general of course, what the work environment is like.

check

Worked both and enjoyed small companies more in spite of lower pay, frequent job changes and harder work. I'm not very capable or tolerant when it comes to politics. If you can put up with it, I think you'll agree that the pay is generally better at the big companies.

92U 3406

Occupation
Wrench Bender
The benefits/pay is what originally attracted me to the big companies. That and the potential for technical training. I hate changing jobs but I'm mentally drained by all the politics, policies and pointless company meetings/conferences. I'm thinking a smaller construction/logging company with less than 40 units would be more my thing.

Muffler Bearing

Occupation
Truck Mechanic