• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

looking for used excavators

ktm250rider

Im an engineer/homeowner looking to buy an excavator to get some work done around the house. Mainly, build a MX track and clear some fields. Looking around 26K lb. No specific model, just one with a thumb and decent condition. Ive looked at a bunch and getting better at checking things out.
Ive seen all conditions with some needing new pins, rollers, sprockets good and bad and some with leaking pistons. The one thing I cant figure out, is when the main boom is lifted all the way up, the weight seems to rock the whole upper assembly. Is this normal or does it indicate a worn main swivel gear? I tried to see if the assembly would move just by pushing the bucket on the ground but i couldnt detect any play.

Silveroddo

Sounds like it would be the bearing in the swing circle, heard of them going bad but have never seem it. I know on older machines its pretty common for the seal on the outside of the swing circle to go and given the ammount of work and $$ to replace I know most guys let it go. Just a thoughts.
If you get to a point you have a machine you like get a mechanic to check it out, may cost you a few hundred bucks but can save you thousands.
We had a hitachi EX60 URG checked out one time we were looking at long distance and boy was that the best $250 we ever spent! The guy was importing them from Japan or where ever painting them and selling them with lots of problems over looked. Buyer Beware

ktm250rider